LibGuides: Religious Studies (Yale-NUS College): Books

Search the Catalogue

Search FindMore@NUSL

Subject Headings

Subject Headings are assigned to books and other materials in LINC to help categorize them across disciplines. One item can have several subject headings. Sometimes starting with the subject heading is a good way to learn about resources on your topic. Here is a small selection of religion-focused headings to get you started:

Religion and Literature

Call numbers

Books in the Library are also classified by call number. Each call number represents a certain subject area. It is likely that if you find one good book on your topic, there will be others nearby on the shelf about that same topic. Browse the shelves!!!

BM 1-999 Judaism

BP 1-610 Islam, Bahai, Theosophy

BQ 1-9519 Buddhism

BR 1-1725 Christianity

BS 1-2970 The Bible

BX 1-9999 Christian Denominations

Bibliographies

Bibliography of art and architecture in the Islamic world
Central Library Books, N6260 Bib 2011 (2 vol.)
Buddhism - Oxford Bibliographies (ONLINE!)
Hinduism - Oxford Bibliographies (ONLINE!)
Index Islamicus
Central Library Reference, Z7835 Isl.II
International bibliography of Sikh studies (ONLINE!)
Judaism and Christianity : a guide to the reference literature
Central Library Reference, Z6370 Sta
Sikhism and the Sikhs: An Annotated Bibliography
Central Library Reference, Z7835 Sik.R

Handbooks

Finding Background Information

The NUS Libraries have significant print resources relating to the religions of the world. Below is an abridged list of resources to get you started. Remember that the Library organizes information by SUBJECT. So, items that are similar in topic will be grouped together by Call Number and may have similar Subject Headings.

Reference Materials - Getting Started
Atlases
Bibliographies
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Handbooks

Reference Materials - Getting Started

Encyclopedia of Global Religion (ONLINE!) by Wade Clark Roof; Mark Juergensmeyer
ISBN: 9780761927297
Publication Date: 2012
Provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects.
Britannica Student Encyclopaedia (ONLINE!) by Encyclopaedia Britannica Publishers
ISBN: 9781593393007
Publication Date: 2010
More than 2250 captivating articles are the perfect resource for satisfying the curiosity of learners of all ages. Includes 2700 photos, charts, and tables that help explain concepts and subjects as well as 1200 maps and flags from across the globe.
The Brill Dictionary of Religion (Online) by Kocku Von Stuckrad
Call Number: Yale-NUS Reference, BL31 Bri 2007
ISBN: 9004124330
Publication Date: 2005-12-23
Richly illustrated and with more than 500 entries, the dictionary is a multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment. Addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions, as well as gives weight and consideration to a multiplicity of other religious phenomena.

Atlases

Atlas of the world's religions
Central Library Reference, G1046 Eco.At 2007
Atlas of religion
Central Library Reference, G1046 Rel.Ob 2007
Atlas of the Bible
Central Library Reference, BS630 Rog
Historical Atlast of Islam (ONLINE!)
This historical atlas is part of BrillOnline Reference Works.

Dictionaries

The Brill Dictionary of Religion (ONLINE!)
Yale-NUS Reference, BL31 Bri 2007 and available online
A concise dictionary of Buddhism and Zen
Central Library Reference, BL1403 Con 2010
The Concise Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church (ONLINE!)
Central Library Reference, BR95 Oxf and available online.
Dictionary of atheism, skepticism & humanism
Central Library Reference, BL2705 Coo 2006
A Dictionary of Buddhism (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press covers the history and doctrine of major Buddhist schools.
A Dictionary of Hinduism (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press covers major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts.
A Dictionary of Popes (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press offers accounts of all officially recognized popes in history.
Dictionary of Qurʼanic terms and concepts
Central Library Reference, BP133 Mir
A Dictionary of the Bible (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press provides entries on important people, places, themes, and doctrines of the bible.
Historical dictionary of Buddhism
Central Library Reference, BL1403 Pre
Historical dictionary of new religious movements
Central Library Reference, BP601 Chr
Historical dictionary of Sikhism
Central Library Reference, BL2018 Mcl
Oxford Dictionary of Islam (ONLINE!)
This dictionary offers entries on the modern Islamic world, focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints (ONLINE!)
This dictionary offers more than 1,700 entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world.
The Oxford dictionary of world religions
Central Library Reference, BL31 Oxf
Religious studies: the key concepts (ONLINE!)

Encyclopedias

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism
This encyclopedia is part of BrillOnline Reference Works.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Central Library Reference, DS102.8 Enc 2007
Encyclopaedia of Islam (ONLINE!)
Central Library Reference, BP40 EI and available online
Encyclopedia of African religion (ONLINE!)
Encyclopedia of ancient deities
Central Library Reference, BL473 Cou
Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism
Central Library Reference, BL501 Enc
Encyclopedia of Christianity Online (ONLINE!)
This encyclopedia is part of BrillOnline Reference Works.
The encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity (ONLINE!)
Encyclopedia of global religion (ONLINE!)
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
This encyclopedia is part of BrillOnline Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Judaism (ONLINE!)
This encyclopedia is part of BrillOnline Reference Works.
Encyclopedia of love in world religions (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL626.4 Enc 2008
Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements (ONLINE!)
Encyclopedia of Monasticism (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL631 Enc
Encyclopedia of new religious movements (ONLINE!)
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL65 Pol.En
Encyclopedia of religion
Central Library Reference, BL31 Eny 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL65 Nat.E 2005
Encyclopedia of religion in American politics
Central Library Reference, BL2525 But
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals
Central Library Reference, BL31 Enc 2010
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL240.3 Enc 2003
Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
Central Library Reference, BP173.4 Enc 2003
Encylopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (ONLINE!)
This encyclopedia is part of BrillOnline Reference Works.
EQ : encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān
Central Library Reference, BP133 Enc 2002
The history of science and religion in the western tradition : an encyclopedia
Central Library Reference, BL245 His
Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of world religions
Central Library Reference, BL31 Mer 1999
Mythologies (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL311 Myt
Pilgrimage : from the Ganges to Graceland : an encyclopedia (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, BL619 Pil.D 2002
The Quran: an encyclopedia (ONLINE!)
Religion Past and Present (ONLINE)
This only encyclopedia is part of BrillOnline Reference Works
Religions of the world : a comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices
Central Library Reference, BL80.3 Rel 2002
The Routledge encyclopedia of religion, communication and media
Central Library Reference, P94 Enc 2010
Shamanism : an encyclopedia of world beliefs, practices, and culture (2 vol.)
Central Library Reference, GN475.8 Sha 2004