LibGuides: Built Environment / Project and Facilities Management: Databases

Search for Full-texts

Databases are a good a place to begin research. They may contain articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, newspapers, chapters in books, reports and reviews.

Other than the ones below, you can find more databases available at: NUS Libraries> E-Resources> Databases

GreenFile
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Web of Science
(Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980- )
Full-text journal articles, proceedings to topics within science, social sciences, and arts and humanities disciplines. Also include analytical tools in evaluating and ranking journals.
Engineering Village
"Across database searching service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Databases include: Compendex, GEOBASE, Inspec and NTIS. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering all engineering disciplines. Online coverage is from 1884 to date."
Scopus
An abstract and indexing database to primarily Science and Social Science disciplines. An useful multidisciplinary navigational tool to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars.
Business Source Premier
Business research database with full-text articles available, covering articles, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports etc.
ICONDA : the CIB international construction database.
(1976-) Contains citations to journal articles, books, research reports, business reports, bibliographies, theses and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes building and construction, civil engineering, architecture and town planning. For full-text, take down the citation information and check in LINC or FindMore

Statistics & Time Series (Singapore)

Construction InfoNet This link opens in a new window
Produced by BCA (Building and Construction Authority), Construction InfoNet contains up-to-date statistics, reports and quarterly reviews on various aspects of Singapore’s construction industry. The statistics include construction GDP and productivity, construction price update, materials price indices, tender price index, unit rates of various construction works and value of contracts awarded. There is also a construction project database which contains details of construction projects awarded since 2013. Please note: Registration is necessary for first time user.

Law & Legislation

Singapore Statutes Online
- Free resource
- Official Singapore Government website for online publication of legislation and is provided and maintained by the Attorney-General's Chambers.
- Contains current version of Acts and is browsable by title or subject.

Industrial Standards

Singapore Standards: Code of practice
*available in hard copies at the library*
Key in SS/CP number or title in the library's catalogue to retrieve. For more details on retrieval of these materials, please see the Standards subject guide. For a sample list of standards on building and construction, see here or do a keyword search.
ASTM American Society for Testing and Materials International
British Standards Online [including ISO standards]
IEC International Electrotechnical Commission

Industry/Market Reports & Updates

Construction InfoNet This link opens in a new window
Current updates by the Building and Construction Authority. Includes statistics, price indices, project listings, articles, and project information in the local construction industry.

Business Monitor International
Contains various industry/market reports of different countries. Data/statistics concerning construction/infrastructure industry can be found under the Real Estate reports.
Frost and Sullivan
Contains market research for various industries. Information in Environment & Building Technologies may be of interest. Generally more geared towards US/Europe.