Skip to main content
Banner Image

Music: Databases

Resources for Music students

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online

Full-text search with advanced capabilities and over 3000 links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations with musical examples.

Classical Scores Library

Classical Scores Library

Has the complete catalog of Boosey & Hawkes and selected material from University Music Edition microfilm series. Extensive list of works of Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Handel, Lassus, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Palestrina, Rameau, Schubert, etc. Classical Scores Library allows seamless access to the original Classical Scores Library and the new volume 2, which expands on the original. The two volumes offer 600,000 pages of scores and the integration provides an added new focus on major living composers around the world. Composers include Michael Tippett, Hugo Wolf, Claude Debussy, Erik Satie, Maurice Ravel, Charles Ives, Moya Henderson and Nicholas Vines.

Other Music Databases

Web of Science

Web of Science

Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

Google Scholar

To gain access to full text from Google scholar, use the proxy bookmarklet.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, and Folk music . Whilst listening, notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database can also be read.

Naxos Video Library

Naxos Video Library

Naxos Video Library is an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It has over 1285 full-length videos and the libretto and text are included when available.

JSTOR

JSTOR

This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

Other Databases

Below are some useful databases which search for information in other disciplines. You can search Scopus, Web of Science, ScholarBank@NUS and Google Scholar.

Scopus

Scopus


Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

ScholarBank

ScholarBank@NUS

ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office

Resource Librarians

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
NUS Music Library

Phone: +65 6516 8130

Website

Music Library