Skip to main content
Banner Image

Music: Resources

Resources for Music students

Databases

Oxford Music Online provides full-text search with advanced capabilities and over 3000 links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations with musical examples.

 

Naxos Music Library includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, and Folk music . Whilst listening, notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database can also be read.

 

Naxos Video Library is an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It has over 1285 full-length videos and the libretto and text are included when available.

 

Classical Scores Library supports the teaching and research of classical music with coverage of all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas and the avant-garde. Coverage from Vol I, Vol II and Vol III is available.

 

Babel Scores Contemporary Music Online showcases the works of composers of the past few decades. When logged in to the database, it allows you to consult the full score in booklet format and listen to the recording.

 

Music Database is a music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.

 

JSTOR is a full-text database containing back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

 

 

Music Index Online features digitised content from 1970 to the present, provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also has selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

E-Books

Include free and subscribed e-books available through the Web, NUSNET and CD-ROMs. Access to subscribed titles is restricted to NUS staff and students only. Please observe copyright rules when downloading or printing. 

http://libportal.nus.edu.sg/frontend/ebooks-home?cid=425409

E-Newspapers

 

For the list of newpapers, please click on link below:

http://libportal.nus.edu.sg/frontend/enewspaper-viewall

 

 

 

ScholarBank

ScholarBank@NUS is available to both users seeking to deposit their works online and users who would like to access and reference the works of others:

http://scholarbank.nus.edu.sg/termsofuse;jsessionid=D83FE3FD80F0CF35967753EB7EF4F0B0