Physics: Books & eBooks

Summary - "Fully revised, with many new entries and biographies of key scientists, this work covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in physics, as well as key terms from maths, astrophysics and physical chemistry."

Derived from the world-renowned "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, this vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of mathematics or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, "The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics, Second Edition: * Has been extensively revised, with 4,000 entries encompassing the language of mathematics and statistics * Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations * Provides pronunciations for all terms * Covers such topics as algebra, analysis, arithmetic, logic and settheory, number theory, probability and statistics, topology, and trigonometry * Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information * Is based on the "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - for more than a quarter-of-a-century THE standard international reference Carefully reviewed for clarity, completeness, and accuracy, the "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics, Second Edition, offers a standard of excellence unmatched by any similar publication.

More than 3,000 terms with clear, working definitions, alternative meanings, and related references comprise this uniquely focused lexicon. Published in a convenient, paperback format, it covers chemical, energy, nuclear, plasma, condensed matter, and solid-state physics, fluid dynamics, quantum mechanics, quantum optics, thermodynamics, and materials science.

Clear, precise definitions of scientific terms are crucial to good scientific and technical writing-and to understanding the writings of others. Whether you are a physicist, engineer, mathematician, or technical writer, whether you work in a research, academic, or industrial setting, we all have the occasional need for comprehensible, working definitions of scientific terms. To meet that need, CRC Press proudly announces publication of the Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics-the first published volume of CRC's Comprehensive Dictionary of Physics. Authored by eminent scientists from around the world, offers concise, authoritative definitions of more than 3,000 terms covering a range of pure and applied disciplines: acoustics biophysics communications electricity electronics geometrical optics low-temperature physics magnetism medical physics physical optics The editor has taken care to ensure each entry is as self-contained as possible, to include terms from the frontiers of technology, and to omit obsolete terms that can clutter a search. The result is a lucid, accessible, and convenient reference valuable to both the novice and the seasoned professional.

This comprehensive and authoritative dictionary provides clear definitions of units, prefixes, and styles of weights and measures within the Systeme International (SI), as well as traditional, and industry-specific units. It also includes general historical and scientific background, covering the development of the sequential definitions and sizing of units. This new reference work will prove invaluable to professional scientists, engineers, technicians as well as to students and the general user. Over 1,600 clear and concise entries complete with historical background. Covers a broad range of disciplines, including astronomy, electromagnetics, geology, photography, mathematics, meteorology, physics, and temperature. Notes on associated terminology. Numerous tables, including the geochronologic scale and the equation of time. Comprehensive coverage of the whole Systeme International

This volume is a translation and revision of the Original Russian version by Baryahktar. It covers all of the main fields involved in Condensed Matter Physics, such as crystallography, electrical properties, fluids, magnetism, material properties, optics, radiation, semiconductors, and superconductivity, as well as highlights of important related subjects such as quantum mechanics, spectroscopy, and statistical mechanics. Both theoretical and experimental aspects of condensed matter are covered in detail. The entries range from very short paragraphs on topics where definitions are needed, such as Bloch's law, clathrate compound, donor, domain, Kondo lattice, mean free path, and Wigner crystal, to long discussions of more general or more comprehensive topics such as antiferromagnetism, crystal lattice dynamics, dislocations, Fermi surface, Josephson effect, luminescence, magnetic films, phase transitions and semiconductors. The main theoretical approaches to Condensed Matter Physics are explained. There are several long tables on, for example, Bravais lattices, characteristics of magnetic materials, units of physical quantities, symmetry groups. The properties of the main elements of the periodic table are given. Numerous entries not covered by standard Solid State Physics texts o Self-similarity o The adiabatic approximation o Bistability - Emphasis on materials not discussed in standard texts o Activated carborn o Austenite o Bainite o Calamitics o Carbine o Delat phase o Discotics o Gunier-Preston zones o Heterodesmic structures o Heusler Alloys o Stress and strain deviators o Vicalloy · Each entry is fully cross-referenced to help tracking down all aspects of a topic under investigation. Highly illustrated to clarify many concepts.

This dictionary contains over 2000 entries dealing with the terms used in atomic and nuclear physics. The entries are written in a concise style, with cross-references. The work covers modern research and discoveries in particle physics as well as questions of philosophical interest and applications for nuclear physics in nuclear energy and nuclear medicine. In addition, relevant material to the AP Physics course and the AP Chemistry course is included.