Skip to main content
Banner Image

Political Science: Databases

Resources in Political Science

Political Science-Specific Databases

Databases which are specifically for the discipline of Political Science are listed in this column.

Archival Databases

Political Thought & Theory

Intelex Past Masters

Encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. InteLex acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Library subscribes to selected titles only.

International Relations : United States of America

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) 

Contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. Resource covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Useful for political science and history students looking into the foreign policy and national security issues covering not only the USA but many other countries and regions.

US Declassified Documents Online (DDSO)

Year range is immediately following World War II, through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) via HeinOnline

This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity beginning in 1861 and continues until the administration of Richard Nixon in 1975. Coverage includes the American Foreign Policy Current Documents (1981 - 1991) database.

US National Security Archives @ George Washington University

The Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

International Relations : Others

Chinese Foreign Policy Database

An online resource containing nearly 1,500 declassified documents on the international relations of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) since 1949. Documents in the database include diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes, and other internal documents retrieved from dozens of archives around the world. The database is maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program and has been generously supported by the MacArthur Foundation.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Databases which are general and multi-disciplinary are listed in this column.

Google Scholar

To gain access to full text from Google Scholar, use the Find It @ NUSLibraries feature or the Proxy Bookmarklet tool.

Other Information Sources

Sites and databases comprising laws and treaties, statistics, speeches, news articles, and other types of documents are listed in this column.

Laws/Legislation and Treaties

Government and Other Documents