Skip to main content
Banner Image

Academic Exercises, Theses & Dissertations by students from the Department of Japanese Studies: Masters Degree

Masters Degree Dissertaions

Electronic copies of NUS theses and dissertations (2003 onwards) are accessible via ScholarBank @NUS.

Fong Chun Wai
Yokai in kusazoshi : caricatures and classes
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2016.((Full-text e-version, open access)

Kazuhara, Eve Loh
Taisho Nihonga art collectives : a study of Kinreisha (1916 - 1922)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2016.(Closed Thesis)

Yao, Huijun.
Indigenous agency and a new postcolonial ainu discourse: A study of ainu cultural display sites in Hokkaido
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2014.(Closed Thesis)

Tong, Koon Fung.
Enka as a marker of social difference: Uncovering 'Tradition' as 'Taste' 
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2014. (Full-text e-version, open access)

Nguyen, Ha Nguyen.
The 1871 Kaihorei: Discourse, Outcastes and the Politics of Making Modern Japan.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2011. (Full-text e-version, open access)

Sakomoto, Junko. 
Normalizing Unnaturalness: Indexing "Foreignness" in Japanese-Dubbed Versions of American Movies and TV Dramas. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2011.

Pang, Carolyn
Spirit Servant: Narratives of Shikigami and Onmyodo Developments. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2009.

Kam, Thiam Huat.
The Common Sense that makes the "Otaku": Rules for Consuming Popular Culture in Contemporary Japan. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2009.

Yuen, Shu Min.
Pop-Idol concerts in Contemporary Japan - Queering Gender, Sexuality and Ethnicity. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2008.

Zheng, Hong
Animosity or Preference, Chinese Consumers' Attitudes Towards Japanese Products. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2008.

Tan, Bee Kee.
Unauthorized Romances: Female Fans and Weiss Kreuz Internet Yaoi Fanfiction. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2008.

Shibamoto, Sho.
Problems and Future Prospects of a Japan-China FTA. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2007.

Yu, Jie.
Working for Japanese Companies: An Empirical Study of the Conflicts of Japanese Management in China from the Perspective of Chinese Employees. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2007.

Xie, Qiaoguang.
A Study of the Role of Guanxi in Sino-Japanese Distribution Channel Relationships in China. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2007.

Ni, Yuliya.
Japan's FTA policy: the origins, development and nature. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2007.

Lim, Yin Chum.
A Study of Country-based Differences in Project Manager's Practices in Project Management Implementation: Japan and Singapore. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2007.

Wang, Hongyu.
Fantastic elements, special families and feminine power in healing-A study of Yoshimoto Banana's novels. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2006.

Tan, Ban Chong.
The political opportunity structure and the enactment of Japan's "new" privacy law. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2006.

Sasuya, John Wilfred Maligsay.
Sustainable development: Evaluation of the rhetoric and realities of Japanese economic assistance to the Philippines. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2006.

Soong, Lai Yee, Juliana.
Online social support for single mothers in Japan. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2006.

Tan, Chyn Ngian.
A study on the error of extra particle /no/ by Singaporean secondary school students. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2005.

Chua, Karl Ian Uy Cheng 
The stories they tell: Komik strips during the Japanese occupation of the Philippines, 1942-1945. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2005.

Ng, Suan Khee Judy.
Shinto and Christian festivals: An analysis of the Japanese religious policy in wartime Singapore.  (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2005.

Santiago, Posadas Baryon Tensor.
Memory, mirrors and missing women: Metafictive narrative strategies and the doppelganger image in the fictions of Abe Kobo and Murakami Haruki. (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2004.

Zheng, Yu
Centers of excellence?: Localization of Sogo Shosha in China.  (Full-text e-version, open access)
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2004.
 

PL501 *2002 2
Lee, Chee Keng.
Negotiating culture , re-presenting new Asia : a case study of Japan Foundation Asia Center's production of Lear.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2002.

PL501 *2002 3
Yumiko, Miyazaki.
Polite expressions in Japanese at the Japanese overseas operating companies : the study of Japanese companies in Singapore.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2002.

PL501 *2002 4
Tam, Wai Lok.
Japanese video games in Hong Kong : a study of subordinate males as consumers.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2002.

PL501 *2002 16
Lee, Chee Keng.
Watching Japanese television dramas in Singapore : relevance, cultural proximity and Asian modernity.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2002.

PL501 *2002 17
Lim, Jasmine Mui Leng.
Recreation in Singapore under Japanese occupation, 1942-45 / Jasmine Lim Mui Leng.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2002.

PL501 *2000 19
Loo, Tze May.
The radicalisation of protest : kotoku shsui and anarchism in late Meiji Japan.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2000.

PL501 *2000 20
Tan, Shih Ming.
The Asian monroe doctrine : tokutomi sohテエ's concept of a new Asian order.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 2000.

PL501 *1998 25
Ng, Mien Woon.
Price destruction and its implications for the Japanese economy.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 1998.

PL501 *1996 30
Toh, Jane Chia Wey.
The element of perception in literary translation.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 1996.

PL501 1993 23
Thang, Leng Leng.
Ikigai among elderly in Okinawa.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 1993.

PL501 1989 1
Lim, Beng-choo.
Writer on the morbius truck : a study of Abe Kobo's novels .
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 1989.

PL501 1989 2
Neo, Chuan Choon.
Akutagawa Ryunosuke : the inner struggle.
Thesis (M.A.)--Dept. of Japanese Studies, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, 1989.