Databases are a good a place to begin research. They may contain articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, newspapers, chapters in books, reports and reviews.
To facilitate writing up your assignment, report or paper -- citing reference as you write -- before you start your database search, do check out how to import (download) your citations to a bibliographic management software like EndNote.
NUS staff and students access the databases via Library Portal to take advantage of the seamless links to subscribed full-text of the articles.
Most databases allow you to register to receive email alerts of new articles. To access the full-text from the article links listed in your email alerts, you will have to install the Proxy Bookmarklet.
Alternative access to search Medline (sub-set of PubMed). Provided by Ovid. Medline is a Biomedical literature database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing and health care system.
To attend Online Training materials on using Micromedex, visit the Micromedex Training webpage.
Click here to download the Quick Reference Guide.
Below are links to short videos on Micromedex:
This short video by Ivan Chong from IBM provides an overview of how to use Micromedex
This training video consists of 6 lessons. You may pick and choose lessons of interest to you.
Total view time for this video is approximately 16 min
This short video from University of South Alabama provides an overview of basic drug search, IV Compatibility search and Drug
Interaction search
Pubmed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 26 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
UpToDate covers over 8,500 topics in 17 medical specialties and includes more than 97,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 385,000 references and a drug database. Physician editors and authors review and update our content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months.
Click here to view a short help demo video of UpToDate.
Lexi-Comp and Lexi Interact are included in NUS subscription.