Law journals and reviews are collections of articles on specific legal topics. They are published periodically and provide information on the latest developments in the law as well as commentaries on and criticisms of the law.
Examples include the Singapore Academy of Law Journal, Singapore Law Review and Singapore Journal of Legal Studies.
A. What is an article citation?
Citations are references to where you can locate articles in law journals and reviews.
Examples:
i. Dora Neo, “The Sale of Goods (Amendment) Act 1996: Satisfactory Quality, an Undivided Share in a Bulk and other Amendments” (1997) 9 SAcLJ 362.
ii. David Feldman, “The Nature of Legal Scholarship” (1989) 52 Mod L Rev 498.
Citations contain:
B. How do I find a journal?
To determine the availability and location of journals in the NUS Libraries, run a Title Search for the journal in the library catalogue, LINC, e.g. singapore academy of law journal.
Alternatively, search for full text articles in one of the law databases listed in the right column.
Identify journal abbreviations using one of these online or print resources:
A good way to start searching for articles is to use an index to legal periodicals.
a. Print index
Mallal's Digest: Index to Legal Periodicals of Malaysia and Singapore 1932 to 2015
K7599.3 Mdp 2016 (LW Reference 1)
This publication contains subject and author indexes to legal periodicals published in Malaysia and Singapore from 1932 to 2015.
b. Online indexes
These databases contain citations to a wide range of journal articles, including those published in Singapore journals. Search for articles by author, subject or keyword:
After you have obtained the article citation, run a Title Search for the journal in the library catalogue, LINC.
Access full text articles on Singapore law using the following databases:
* indicates subscription database
Browse the following Working Paper Series by NUS Law and its Centres for relevant articles (mostly published on SSRN):
Newspaper articles contain commentaries on various legal issues. The following databases provide access to local newspapers including the Straits Times and Business Times.
* indicates subscription database
For direct access to full texts of publications within NUS Libraries' subscriptions, install Find It!@NUS Libraries, Proxy Bookmarklet or LibKey Nomad.
Installation instructions:
https://libguides.nus.edu.sg/findfulltext