This is the "What, why & how?" page of the "Proxy Bookmarklet" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Proxy Bookmarklet   Tags: popular  

Use the Library proxy bookmarklet to access fulltext of links obtained directly from external websites (e.g. google scholar, google, email alerts)
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nus.edu.sg/proxy_bookmarklet Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

What, why & how? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a proxy bookmarklet?

A bookmark that inserts the NUS Libraries proxy stem

The proxy bookmarklet automatically inserts the NUS Libraries proxy stem "libproxy1.nus.edu.sg" into the URL of an article link in your browser. Once you have  successfully installed the bookmarklet once, you can access full-texts of journal articles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscription by clicking on the bookmarklet on any page that requires you to pay. This will attempt to access the resource via NUS Libraries' sunscription.

Please note that this method does not work 100% reliably on all databases and sources (See exceptions). An article may also be available in multiple locations, aggregators.  

If the proxy bookmark does not work, to confirm for sure whether an article is available see http://libfaq.nus.edu.sg/a.php?qid=16769 for the manual method. 

Alternatively, if you are using Google Scholar or PubMed the following NEW method of accessing full text via NUS Subscriptions will avoid some of the problems listed above.

 If you are using Google Scholar, please use the following official method of accessing full-text instead.

 If you are using PubMed, please use the following official method of accessing full-text instead.

 

Video

The proxy bookmarklet allows you to directly access full text of E-resources via the subscription of NUS.  The video below shows how to install and use proxy bookmarklet to access full text of a reference obtained from a Google Scholar  search. Please note that this will work for most but not all sites.

 

Why should you use the proxy bookmarklet?

Scenario 1:
You searched Google and found some relevant titles in the list of search results.  However, when you click on an article link, you are redirected  to a vendor or publisher's site where you will be asked to pay for the full-text.

Scenario 2:
You receive direct links to online articles from a friend and after reading the abstract, you want to read the full-texts.  Similarly, when you click on the article links via email,blogs, twitter and you are directed to the publisher or vendor site where you are required to log in or pay to view full-texts.

Solution: Proxy Bookmarklet
Note that in the above scenarios, you are not coming directly from the NUS Libraries portal and hence the publisher/vendor site does not know that you have access via subscriptions from NUS.

You can of course, go back to our library portal and search the database or journal from there, but there's a faster way to authenticate and access the article directly. This involves adding the proxy stem to the URL. One way of doing so is to use the proxy bookmarklet.

 

How does the proxy bookmarklet work?

Below is a simple illustration of how the proxy bookmarklet works:

 

Does the proxy bookmarklet works for all article links?

Only for source titles within NUS Libraries subscription

The proxy bookmarklet works for source titles that are within the NUS Libraries subscription. However, NUS Libraries does not have subscription to every online article, for every year or  for every vendor. If for some reasons, the proxy bookmarklet method fails, you will have to check the library catalogue to see if there is access via another online source or if a print copy is available.

 

Want more?


Go beyond the proxy bookmarklet!

More useful search tools.

 

Is this tool useful?

 

LibGuide Chat

Mon-Fri: 9am - 5pm (Email/Call us)

Type in your query in the chat box & get a real-time answer!

Click on the green arrow button to "pop up" the chat.

Author

Profile Image
Hayati Abdul

Chat Service Hours

For Members of NUS Libraries only.

Contact Info
NUS Central Library
Phone: +65 65162030

Subjects:
Sociology

Author

Profile Image
Aaron Tay Chee Hsien

For Members of NUS Libraries only.

Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
NUS Central Library
(65) 6516 2030
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip