Current journalsBound journalsClosed Stack journals
This is the "Main" page of the "How do I find journal articles?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How do I find journal articles?  

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nus.edu.sg/findjournal Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Main Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do you get the articles you need?

This guide helps you to locate fulltexts of journal articles found in the following sources:

  • reading lists and bibliographies
  • Google/Google Scholar
  • indexing databases (e.g. Business Source Premier, Scopus and PsycInfo)

 If instead you are looking for articles on a certain topic to complete your assignment, thesis or research, read this instead.

 

From reading lists and bibliographies

1.  For citations found in reading lists, check IVLE to see if it is listed under E-reserves. 

2.  Sometimes a journal article in a reading list may be directly linked to a subscribed E-journal.

3.  If 1 & 2 do not apply, you will need to locate the journal article manually. This also applies to locating fulltexts from bibliographies.

 

From Google Scholar

After searching Google/Google Scholar, you may be directed to a page  where you can download the fulltext but you are required to pay. Or you may receive a link that brings you to the online article but you are unable to download.

1. Try installing the proxy bookmarklet to retrieve fulltext. This works only for source titles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscirption.

2. If the above does not work, you can set up the "Find It @ NUS Libraries" link in Google Scholar to directly access fulltexts as shown in the video below:

 

From indexing databases

1.  Some databases (e.g. Business Source Premiere) have full-text journal articles within the database. If so, you can get the article (usually as a PDF) directly from of the database:

2.  Some indexing databases provide links to fulltexts.  In the Scopus example below, click on the "View at publisher" menu to retrieve the fulltext:

 
3.  If the "View at Publisher" link is not available or it does not work, select the "Find It! @NUS Libraries" to check if the journal title is available in the Library:

FAQ

Q How do I check if the full text of journal articles are available?

Updated: Dec 17, 2014
A

Looking for Chinese Journal articles or theses instead? Try this FAQ.

 

If you are already on an online page that is asking you to pay to access, you can try using the proxy bookmarklet to gain access. But note the proxy bookmarklet does not work on all databases, for details.  

If you are using Google Scholar to find articles, please use the following official method to access full-text

If you are using PubMed to find articles, please use the following official method to access full-text

If you have tried these methods and they have failed, try the manual method below.

 

Quick method - search article title using FindMore@NUSL

Search for articles, books & more

Note: While this searches covers a high percentage of articles we have access to, not every journal article can be found with this search. If the search fails to find the article, it is still possible we have access online or print. Please follow the procedure below to check.

Official method

What follows is the recommended method to establish if NUS Libraries has access to a known article, all other methods including using Articles Tab, or searching LINC+ then selecting articles or searching using FindMore@NUSL is not guaranteed to work. If you follow these instructions and you still can't find it, it is very likely we just don't have access to it, if so and this article is critical to your research, you might be able to request the library purchase it via Document Delivery Service.

If you are given a citation, identify for the journal article

a) journal title article is in - e.g "Quarterly Journal of Economics"

b) year of publication - e.g 2011

c) vol/issue article it is in - e.g 126(4)

and not just the article title e.g. "Cash or condition ? evidence from a cash transfer experiment."

 

Don't know what the journal title is? Search Google or Google Scholar by article title for full reference.

1. If you only have an abbreviated journal title and do not know the complete title, check Journal abbreviations for the complete title. E.g. Appl Math Optim.

Some listings you can try to check Journal Abbreviations include JAS: Journal Abbreviation SourcesGenamics JournalSeek , UlrichsWebNLM List of Serials Indexed for Online UsersCanada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (CISTI) , Singapore - Legal Abbreviations compiled by the C J Koh Law Library or just by doing a Google search.

 

 

2. Do a search in LINC for the journal to see if the required journal issue is available either in print or in online version. At the search box, type in the complete title or as much of the beginning of the title. E.g. Applied mathematics and optimization. 

If there are too many results you might want to restrict the search to the Journals collection.

 

 

3. If there is no exact hit, browse the titles near what you have typed. If the title you want is not there, click on Search As Words to do a keyword search. 

 

4. If the journal is available in the library, you can see the full record. Depending on the journal availability not all sections will be shown.

 

 

 

You can 

a) check the online versions to see if the issue you need is available

b) click on latest received to see the newest print issues received (these are generally in the current journal sections and cannot be borrowed out).

 

 

 

c) check the OLDER issues (bound volumes) available in the library. By default only a maximum of 10 bound journals are shown. Click on View additional copies or search for a specific volume/copy  to see all print issues available.

 


 

All the bound volumes available in the NUS Libraries is then listed. Bound volumes may be kept in Bound Journals or Closed Stacks. See How do I request a closed stack item?

Do note that journals titles tend to change fairly frequently , so you may have to check successor or preceding journals by clicking on "Continued By" or "Continues".

 

5. If either the journal or the issue is not available in NUS Libraries, you may also want to do a Google or Google Scholar search by article title (with quotes around the search if necessary) to see if the article is available free online.  If the link brings you to a page that requires payment, you can try the proxy bookmarklet to see if you have access.

Note:

NUS Libraries does not have access to every article out there, if you still can't find the article you need after going through these steps, and the article is critical for your research, you can try to request for the article using our Document Delivery Service. This is available only to Academic Staff, Graduate students and honours/final year student. 

 

LibGuide Chat

Mon-Fri: 9am - 5pm (Email/Call us)

Type in your query in the chat box & get a real-time answer!

Click on the green arrow button to "pop up" the chat.

Related Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip