1. What's Find it! @NUS Libraries?
You may notice that some databases display a Find it! @NUS Libraries button (which is powered by 360link our openurl or link resolver) or text link below or next to articles.
Library databases, platforms and web search engines such as Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar, PubMed, databases on ProQuest, Ebscohost etc may display such buttons.
Why do we need this button?
While some databases have the full-text of the items they are displaying in the search results, other may only show the title & abstract of the item and may not have the full-text itself and you may have to search other databases to see if we have the full-text.
Clicking on Find it! @NUS Libraries button will help automate this manual process of checking by automatically attempt to use the metadata of the item (eg journal title, vol, issue, page number) to check against the subscriptions of NUS Libraries online holdings and if a match is found, send you directly to the item.
In most cases, there is no guarantee that clicking on Find it! @NUS Libraries will definitely link you to the online item. Some reasons this will not work
- NUS Libraries does not have access to the online item (but may or may not have the it in hard copy)
- There is a technical issue preventing a successful link to the online item
2. Why use Find it! @NUS Libraries?
While you can always manually do a search for the item in the library catalogue , this can be a tedious affair as you need to search by the journal title first to check if the right coverage of the journal is available.
Clicking on the Find it! @NUS Libraries button or link, does all this automatically, indicating to you with one click whether the article is available via NUS Libraries subscriptions.
3. Sources - Databases etc supported
The Find it! @NUS Libraries function is not supported on all databases or sources, currently as of Jan 2013, Find it! @NUS Libraries is available at the following databases and searches
- Web of Science
- Biosis Previews
- Google Scholar
- ProQuest Platform - (e.g Sociological Abstracts, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- Ebscohost Platform - (e.g Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete)
- OVID Platform - (e.g EconLit, PsycINFO)
- Gale Platform - (e.g Academic OneFile)
- More coming soon.
Most of these will automatically display the link, when you login via links from the our sites except for Google Scholar (which requires special setup by you) and PubMed where you have the alternative method of setting it up via the MyNCBI account.
4. What if clicking on the link doesn't work?
Q I clicked on Find it!@ NUSLibraries and I couldn't get to the full text. What should I do?
When you click on the FindIt!@ NUSLibraries link or button, two things might happen.
Firstly, 360 Link may feel that no online version exists, or is unable to get directly to the article and you may be sent to the 360link search page and if so just follow the steps there .
On the other hand, 360 Link you may think that full text is available and you may be brought directly to the article with a "sidebar helper" on side.
Usually, the article on the left of the "sidebarhelper window" loads but sometimes it fails. As seen below.
If so, click on the green Findit@nuslibraries bar on the right to expand further options.
Try the options below
1. If possible click on the "Try a Different Source" dropdown box. This should bring you to the article page. This should almost always get you the full text. If it does not, please report it to us.
2. Try "Browse Journal" or "Browse Issue" link. If so click on that, it will bring you to the online journal page but not directly to the article , you will have to browse or search for the specific article to find it.
3. Lastly click on the "By ISSN" , "By ISBN" or "By Title" (if it exists) . This may allow you to find print copies of the journal or book, or in rare cases online versions. This may not get you the full text.
4. Lastly Click on "Search Google Scholar", you may be able to find a free online version. This may get you the full text.
5. If none of these options work, it means the library may not have a copy either online or in print. You can request help.