LibGuides: British History (Yale-NUS College): Welcome

Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to recommend article databases, books and other materials for conducting research in British History. Click on the tabs at the top of the page, or the menu below to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources. Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Articles/Databases - major databases for finding scholary articles
Biography - search for information about people in their lives throughout British History
Books - become acquainted with major reference works on your topic
Primary Sources/Newspapers - search newspaper and primary source archives
Government/Politics - databases for searching the British Parliamentary Papers, court cases and more
Citations/Citing - tools for managing citations, resources for APA, MLA, Chicago and more

Key Resources for British History

Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada.
British Humanities Index (BHI) International abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities that indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography ODNB should be the first point of reference to learn about the lives of the people from the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the current year.
JSTOR Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project MUSE Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
America: History and Life The key source for searching scholarly literature in U.S. history. Unlike JSTOR, America History and Life is current and includes books and dissertations. Covers more than 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Subject Guide

Priyanka Sharma

Contact:

NUS Central Library
priyanka.sharma@nus.edu.sg

+65 6601-3660

Subjects: Yale-NUS College