LibGuides: Information Literacy Skills for Research (Engineering): Tools

Tools

Major Engineering Databases

	Scopus	Web of Science	Engineering Village	IEEE Xplore
Description	Scopus covers scientific, engineering, technical, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Contains millions of peer-reviewed journals; selected articles from trade journals; book chapters; edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. Updated daily. Scopus does citation tracking - a researcher can find out how many times a particular article has been cited.	Web of Science is one of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It indexes scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents. It offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.	Engineering Village is the essential research database for engineering literature from journals, conferences proceedings, patents, e-books, and many more. In a single interface, you could simultaneously search across four databases, namely Compendex, Inspec, NTIS and GeoBase. The thesauri on Engineering Village contains the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec and GEOBASE databases. This enables consistent and precise search and retrieval.	IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.
Online Guide/ Tutorial	Support Center	Guide	Learn & Support's Training Videos	Video Tutorials
Database Type	Citation and abstract	Citation and abstract	Citation and abstract	Full-text
Types of Sources	Journals, conference papers, books, book series, patents	Journals, conference proceedings, books	Journals, conference proceedings, e-books, book series, patents, dissertations, trade magazines, government reports and documents	Journals, conference proceedings, books, e-books, magazines, standards
Subject Areas	Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health Sciences	Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities	Physical Sciences, Life Sciences	Physical Sciences
Thesaurus	No	No	Yes	No
No. of Journals	>25100	>34385	Compendex: 3945 GEOBASE: 2113 Inspec: >5000 NTIS: >240 (US and international government agencies)	>200
Time Coverage	1788 -	1800 -	Compendex: 1970 - GEOBASE: 1974 - Inspec: 1969 - NTIS:1899 -	1884
Update Frequency	Daily	Daily-Monthly	Weekly	2 times/week
Citation Analysis	Yes	Yes	No	Yes

Other Related Databases

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews (1985-) indexes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Items indexed are journals, meetings, patents, and books.
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) This link opens in a new window
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) is a single source for searching and comparing the latest published scientific methods. It features step-by-step instructions that you can take right to the lab in areas like pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis, natural product isolation analysis and water analysis. It is a curated collection of methods covering emerging science in both analytical and synthetic chemistry.
Construction InfoNet This link opens in a new window
Produced by BCA (Building and Construction Authority), Construction InfoNet contains up-to-date statistics, reports and quarterly reviews on various aspects of Singapore’s construction industry. The statistics include construction GDP and productivity, construction price update, materials price indices, tender price index, unit rates of various construction works and value of contracts awarded. There is also a construction project database which contains details of construction projects awarded since 2013. Please note: Registration is necessary for first time user.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Covers international geoscience literature - Earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. The content crosses subject, language and cultural boundaries, providing an intuitive research tool to users.
ICONDA This link opens in a new window
The International CONstruction DAtabase is the bibliographic database of the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (CIB). It contains citations to journal articles, books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports, theses and other non-conventional literature that are outside of public domain. The coverage dates back to 1976 when the database was first launched. The subject coverage includes building construction, civil and construction engineering, architecture and town planning. To check for availability of full-text in NUS Libraries’ collection, copy and paste the article title into FindMore.
Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 120,000 Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. Each sheet represents a chemical. It provides a detailed evaluations of health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on handling and storage, disposal procedures, accidental release, and first aid.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Operated by The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) on behalf of its publishing partners, OnePetro provides access to over 180,000 items on information pertaining to the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. Some contributing partners include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL), Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT) and World Petroleum Council (WPC). Journals indexed include Corrosion, International Journal of Offshore and Polar Engineering, various SPE publications and many more. This database also offers full-text conference proceedings and articles from many impactful conferences held.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 34 million citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others. Its citations and abstracts also include topics in biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences and bioengineering. The results display might include links to related resources and/or to full-text content from PubMed Central and other publishers. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
A chemistry database from Elsevier that allows you to plan your reaction synthesis; perform structure, substructure, reaction, reference, and common name search; and provides you with experimentally validated data.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying materials properties and covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It is highly relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and areas such as Electrical Engineering.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Experiments is a comprehensive database of over 70,000 protocols and methods. These protocols cover various biology fields such as antibodies, molecular techniques, microscopy techniques, cell and tissue culture techniques and spectroscopy techniques.

Becoming Metric-Wise : A Bibliometric Guide for Researchers
Call Number: Z669.8 Rou 2018
ISBN: 9780081024744
Publication Date: 2018
Design Thinking in Higher Education : Interdisciplinary Encounters
ISBN: 9789811557804
Publication Date: 2020
Doctoral Writing : Practices, Processes and Pleasures
ISBN: 9789811518089
Publication Date: 2020
Engineering Research Methodology : A Practical Insight for Researchers
ISBN: 9789811329470
Publication Date: 2019
Ethics and Engineering : An Introduction
ISBN: 9781316822784
Publication Date: 2021
Exploring Research Data Management
Call Number: Z674.7 Cox 2018
ISBN: 9781783302789
Publication Date: 2018
Gaming the Metrics : Misconduct and Manipulation in Academic Research
ISBN: 9780262537933
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook Bibliometrics
ISBN: 9783110646610
Publication Date: 2021
Intellectual Property : Valuation, Exploitation, and Infringement Damages
ISBN: 9781119356219
Publication Date: 2018
Intellectual Property in the New Technological Age 2021
ISBN: 9781945555190
Publication Date: 2021
Patent, Copyright & Trademark : An Intellectual Property Desk Reference
ISBN: 9781413327779
Publication Date: 2020
Practical Research : Planning and Design
ISBN: 9780134775654
Publication Date: 2019
Research Methodology and Scientific Writing
ISBN: 9783030648657
Publication Date: 2021
Scholarly Misconduct : Law, Regulation and Practice
Call Number: KG3748 Fre 2016
ISBN: 9780198755401
Publication Date: 2016
Seven Steps to a Comprehensive Literature Review
Call Number: LB1047.3 Onw 2016
ISBN: 9781446248928
Publication Date: 2016
Teaching to Avoid Plagiarism : How to Promote Good Source Use
Call Number: PN167 Pec 2013
ISBN: 9780335245932
Publication Date: 2013
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks : A Guide to Academic Publishing Success
ISBN: 9780226499918
Publication Date: 2019
Your PhD Survival Guide : Planning, Writing and Succeeding in Your Final Year
ISBN: 9780429344398
Publication Date: 2021

Computer Science
by Patrick Pu Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 748 views this year
Engineering
by Patsy Chia Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 1361 views this year
Find Library Resources
by Jamila Osman Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 8767 views this year
Information Literacy Skills for Research (Engineering)
by Patrick Pu Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 1292 views this year
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
by Patrick Pu Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 917 views this year
Patents
by Mee Lan Loh Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 921 views this year
SCALE
by Jamila Osman Last Updated Mar 14, 2024 135 views this year
Standards
by Patsy Chia Last Updated Mar 21, 2024 1884 views this year