Skip to main content
Banner Image

Find Books, Articles,...: Searching

Shows you how to search for books, journal articles, databases and full texts

How to find books and other library materials?

How to find a book?

(1) Use our search engine (Findmore@NUSL) to find books/ e-books. This search provides users with a Google-like search experience. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or

(2) Use Books & Media, i.e. LINC (NUS Library INtegrated Catalogue) if you know which item you are looking for. Search by specific field(s) such as Title, Author, Keyword or Subject.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Find the location of the book in the library
2. Check whether a copy is available
3. Take note of the call number of the book

4. If there is a Stack #, the book is in Closed Stacks
5. If it is an e-book, click on the link to access full-text

How to borrow it?

Use your student card to borrow books at the self-check machines or go to the Loans Desk.

How to return it?

Return borrowed books at the book drop or at the Loans Desk.

RBR items (books on 2-hour loan period) should be returned at the self-check machines of the library you have borrowed it from.

How to reserve if the book is borrowed out?

Place hold/ reserve the book if it is out on loan using LINC (NUS Library INtegrated Catalogue).

What do the different status codes (Available, On Holdshelf, Use in Library, etc.) mean? 

 
 
 
 

Call Numbers:

NUS Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification System to classify items in the collection to Call Numbers. Here is a general list of the call numbers that we use:

Class

Description
A General works
B Philosophy ~ Psychology ~ Religion
C History of civilization
D History
E-F History of America
G Geography ~ Anthropology
H Social sciences ~ Economics ~ Sociology ~ Real Estate
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Architecture ~ Fine Arts
P Languages ~ Linguistics ~ Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology ~ Engineering ~ Building
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Bibliography ~ Library Science


Note : C J Koh Law Library uses a different call number system, for more details contact a Law Librarian

How to find a journal article?

Journals are academic magazines that publish articles and carry footnotes and bibliographies.

(1) Search by article title in our search engine (Findmore@NUSL) to see if we have a subscription

Please note that search by article title only works for 90% of our online articles. Also, this method will never work to find articles that we have in print only. If this is the case, search by journal title (not article title).

Or

(2) Search by journal title in Books & Media

If an online article is not found, try searching by journal title (not the article title) to check if we have the print journal in the library. Check availability of relevant volume and issue of the journal.  

 

Proxy Bookmarklet and Google Scholar

The Proxy Bookmarklet and Google Scholar allow you to directly access full text of e-resources via the subscription of NUS. 

Proxy Bookmarklet  - Use this when you are on a site asking you to pay for access

Google Scholar + NUS Libraries - Use this with Google Scholar to gain access to full text with one click

 

How to find a database?

Databases are a good place to begin research. There are many databases subscribed by NUS Libraries, most contain journal articles from various journals, while others have other types of content, e.g. conference papers, newspapers, book chapters, reports and reviews. You can search a database for information (on a particular subject, keyword, author, etc.) across multiple sources  (journals, newspapers, etc.) simultaneously.

(1) Use Databases to search or browse a database of your choice

Or

(2) Not sure which database to use?
You can browse by Subject or Type or check out the recommended databases in Subject Guides compiled by our Resources Librarians

 

If you don't have the habit of starting your search on the library website, the following tools will help make access to library resources (including subscribed journals and or checking of availability of books in our library) easier. You can use one or all together.

Proxy Bookmarklet

Proxy Bookmarklet  - Use this when you are on a site asking you to pay for access

Google Scholar

Google Scholar + NUS Libraries  - Use this with Google Scholar to gain access to full text with one click

Loading ...