Skip to main content
Banner Image

Find Full Texts: Find It! @NUS Libraries

Guide on finding full-text using Find it! @NUS Libraries & Proxy Bookmarklet

About Find It! @NUS Libraries

findit

The search results page in most databases( e.g. Scopus and the Web of Science) typically displays the article details and abstracts. Look out for the Find It! @NUS Libraries links or buttons that provide access to the full texts. When you click on these links, the system checks if the titles are subscribed by NUS Libraries. Once confirmed, the page will be reloaded with the full text options.

Why use the Find It! @NUS Libraries link?
Some databases (including Google Scholar) only display titles and/or abstracts with no access to the full-texts. Setting up the Find It! @ NUS Libraries link enables the system to check if the Library subscribes to the e-version. If yes, the full text options will be displayed.

The right panel of this page contains instructions on how to set up Find It! @NUS Libraries links in Google Scholar.

Note: Clicking on Find It! @NUS Libraries does not work if:

  • NUS Library does not subscribe to the e-version of the full-text.
  • There is a technical issue preventing a successful link to the e-version of the full-text.

Try search the catalogue for a print copy in our collection.

What if there is no Find It! link in a Google Scholar result?

Google Scholar displays the Find It! @NUS Libraries links after comparing its results list to our list of electronic subscriptions. Keep in mind that Google Scholar does not know when we have the print version, nor can it match an incomplete citation. So once you confirmed that the item is not available for free via the web, search our catalogue to for the the print version.

While in Google Scholar, you can also check if the required item is in the NUS Libraries:

Check Library Holdings via Google Scholar

  1. Google Scholar may fail to display the Find It! link even if we have access to the e-version or if the required title is in the print copy. To confirm, select the GS checklibholings symbol option available below the record. This enables the system to "Check Library Holdings" of NUS Libraries:

GS_checkholdings
 

  1. The system checks for the availability of the title in our collection and subsequently returns the screen below. If the title is not available online, select the options By Title or By ISSN to confirm if it is available in hard copy.

GS_checkcatalog

Set up Find It! @NUS Libraries links in Google Scholar

Google Scholar results will link you directly to the online journal but you will likely not have access to the full-text. This is because you are not authenticated via NUS Library proxy. To access the full-text, you can configure Google Scholar settings to include the Find It! @NUS Libraries link option.

How to set up Find It! @NUS Libraries link in Google Scholar

  1. ​Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com). At the top left panel, click on the menu option (Google tends to move this menu  around quite a bit!):

GS

 

  1. Select Settings on the resulting screen. Click on Library Links:

GS_library_links

 

  1. At the "Show library access..." screen, enter NUS and click Enter.  Uncheck the box for "Open World Cat..." if it was checked by default earlier on. Click Save:

 

  1. Now you're ready test if your settings work. Search for a topic in Google Scholar for example Forest City Malaysia Chinese. At the search results page, click on the Find It! @NUS Libraries links for full text options: