Skip to main content
Banner Image

Get Articles with Find It! @ NUS Libraries: Using Find it @NUS Libraries in Google Scholar

Guide on finding full-text using Find it! @NUS Libraries with Google Scholar, PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science and more.

Find It! @ NUS Libraries for Google Scholar

Google Scholar results will link you directly to the online journal but you will likely not have access to the full-text, as you are not authenticated via NUS Libraries proxy. To access the full-text, you can either:

  • Install and use the NUS Libraries' "Proxy Bookmarklet"  OR
  • Configure Google Scholar settings to set up the "Find it @NUS Libraries" link option.

To set up the "Find it @NUS Libraries" link option:

1. Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) At the top left panel, click on the menu option shown below:

GS

 
2. Select Settings on the resulting screen. Click on Library Links:

GS_library_links


 3. At the "Show library access..." screen, enter NUS and click Enter.  Uncheck the default box for "Open World Cat...". Click Save:


4.  Now you're ready test if your settings work. Search for a topic in Google Scholar for example "Forest City Malaysia Chinese": In the search results, look for the Find it @NUS Libraries buttons on the right panel. Click on these buttons to view full texts .  

Findit_fulltext

1. Why does the "Find it #NUS Libraries" link appear next to some items and not others? 

Google Scholar displays this link after comparing the citation to our list of electronic subscriptions. Keep in mind that Google Scholar does not know when we have the print version, nor can it match an incomplete citation. So if the item is not available for free via the web, be sure to search our catalogue or FindMore search engine to see if the NUS Libraries own that title.

    1.1. Check Library Holdings via Google Scholar

In some cases, Google Scholar may fail to display the link next to articles even if we have access.  To confirm if we really do have access, select the GS checklibholings symbol option available below each record. This allows you to "Check Library Holdings"  while in Google Scholar:

checklibholdings_GS

 
 1.2. Search By ISSN or By TItle

The system checks for the availability of the source title in our collection and subsequently returns the screen below. Since the required title is not available online. select By ISSN or  By Title to confirm if the source title is available in print.

libraryholdings_GS

Both the Proxy Bookmarklet and Find it! @NUS Libraries methods can be used to access full-text from Google Scholar search results but they each have their own strengths & weaknesses.

  • The Proxy Bookmarklet is used when you are already on the publisher, e-Journal page and you are asked to login or pay. As such it can be used regardless of the source, for example via Google, Google Scholar, from a link in a email, blog etc. With Find it @ NUS Libraries, the button or link only appears for sources that support this feature which includes Google Scholar, PubMed, Scopus etc but not Google.
     
  • The Proxy Bookmarklet may fail to find full-text even if the library has full-text online. This is because while the library may not have access to the online record on the particular site that you are on (hence adding the proxy fails). However, you may have access to the required full text via another site.
     
  • The Find It! @NUS Libraries link will instead intelligently query our holdings and send you to the right site that we have access to (assuming of course we do have it online). For example, if you search for "Development of reliable and valid short forms of the Marlowe-Crowne Social Desirability Scale" in Google Scholar, it might bring you to http://psycnet.apa.org/psycinfo/1982-08895-001 , adding the proxy here will not work because we do not have access to the required full text via psynet.apa.org. Clicking on Find It! @NUS Libraries will intelligently route you to the right site for the full-text.
     
  • On the other hand, Find It! @NUS Libraries might be more vulnerable to broken links or missing full-text for other reasons such as error in holdings, meta-data errors etc.

Both Find It! @NUS Libraries  and the‚Äč Proxy Bookmarklet  can be used in combination depending on the situation.

Loading ...

Step-by-Step: Find It! @ NUS Libraries for Google Scholar

Animated screenshots to guide you through:

LibGuide Chat