This is the "Find It! in Google Scholar" page of the "Find it! @NUS Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find it! @NUS Libraries   Tags: popular  

Guide on finding full-text using Find it! @NUS Libraries (powered by 360link) with Google Scholar, PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science and more.
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nus.edu.sg/findit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find It! in Google Scholar Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

1. Instructions to set up Find It! links in Google Scholar

Google Scholar results will link you directly to the ejournal but you will not have access to the full-text, as you will not have authenicated via NUS Libraries subscriptions.

We solve this issue by registering with the Google Scholar Library Links programme.

One way  to access this is to proxy Google Scholar.  Alternatively, you can set it up by changing the Google Scholar settings. If you are already signed into a Google account this will tie the settings to your account.

 

1. Go to settings in Google Scholar (note Google like to moves the preference link around a lot)

 
2. Click on Library Links on the left, and on the resulting screen search for NUS , select it and click save.


 3. When you do the search you will see "Find it! @NUS Libraries" Link next to it.

 

2. What if there is no Find it! @NUS Libraries link?

We give Google Scholar, our holdings of electronic journals, so it will dynamically display the link only if we have access to the it online.

However, as Google Scholar is a free tool, this matching isn't perfect and the link may fail to display next to articles that we may have access. Also, Google Scholar is unable to identify if we have the article in print.

To cover such cases and to confirm if we really do have access, you can look for the "check library holdings" link which may be under the More.tab:


 

 If that does not get you to the full-text online, refer to the following trouble-shooting steps.

 

Lazy Scholar addon (beta)

Once you have setup Google Scholar as above, you can also install the Lazy Scholar Chrome addon, to allow you to find full text (both free and subscribed) on any page even if you are not on Google Scholar.

When you are on any page, the addon will try to determine if there are articles mentioned and it will try to find a free full text version via Google Scholar.

If no full text is available, it will provide 2 alternative ways to try to find full text. You can click on [Ezproxy] to try to proxy the page for full text but even better is the click on [Inst] link to find a subscribed version of the paper if possible via Findit@NUSLibraries.

Check the Lazy Scholar addon page for other useful features.

 

Proxy bookmarklet vs Findit@NUSLibraries + Google Scholar

Both the proxy bookmarklet and Findit@NUSLibraries method can be used to access full-text from Google Scholar but they have different strengths & weaknesses.

1. The Proxy bookmarklet is used when you are already on the publisher, ejournal page and you are asked to login or pay. As such it can be used regardless of the source, for example via Google, Google Scholar, from a link in a email, blog etc. With Findit@NUSLibraries the button or link only appears for sources that support this feature which includes Google Scholar, PubMed, Scopus etc but not Google.

2. The proxy bookmarklet may fail to find full-text even if the library has full-text online. This is because while the library may not have access to the online on the particular site you are on (and hence adding the proxy fails), you may have access via another site. The Findit@NUSLibraries link will instead intellgently query our holdings and send you to the right site that we have access to (assuming of course we do have it online). 

For example if you search for "Development of reliable and valid short forms of the Marlowe-Crowne Social Desirability Scale" in Google Scholar, it might bring you to http://psycnet.apa.org/psycinfo/1982-08895-001 , adding the proxy here will not work because we do not have access it here.

On the top other hand, clicking on Find it@NUSLibraries, it will intelligently route you to the right site for the full-text.

3. On the other hand, Find it@NUS Libraries might be more vulnerable to broken links or missing full-text for other reasons such as error in holdings, meta-data errors etc. The proxy bookmarklet method isn't supported on some sites.

Both methods can be used in combination depending on the situation.

 

Video on setting of Google Scholar with Findit!@NUSLibraries

Watch the video below on how to setup the Find It! @NUS Libraries links in Google Scholar:

Troubleshooting

 

Poll

Is this tool useful?



 

LibGuide Chat

Mon-Fri: 9am - 5pm (Email/Call us)

Type in your query in the chat box & get a real-time answer!

Click on the green arrow button to "pop up" the chat.

Author

Profile Image
Aaron Tay Chee Hsien

For Members of NUS Libraries only.

Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
NUS Central Library
(65) 6516 2030
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip