This is the "Media collection" page of the "Media Collection (Videos, Films, DVDs, Documentaries...)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media Collection (Videos, Films, DVDs, Documentaries...)   Tags: audio-visual, audiovisual, av, cd, documentaries, dvd, dvds, feature films, films, media, media material, motion pictures, multimedia, videos  

More about Videos, Films, DVDs, Documentaries...
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nus.edu.sg/media Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Media collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Request to purchase

Requests for the Library to purchase media materials may be made by teaching staff. Check LINC to confirm if a similar request has been previously made in which case the "On Order" status will be displayed .  You may proceed to  place a hold or reserve this item..

Please indicate the module code when submitting your requests through E-forms as  follows: 

1. Go to the Library portal (http://lib.nus.edu.sg).

2.  Click on the Services for Academic/Executive/Professional Staff menu.

You may be prompted to log in with your NUSNET ID and password:

3. Scroll down to the section Recommendation to Purchase New Material  >  select Recommend Media Materials.

4. If you are already logged into the portal, the form should already be listed under My Services (or click on More if you are eligible for this service).

Search Library FAQ

For very specific subject searches, search the library catalogue or LibGuides instead.

 

Media collection

The Central Library Media Collection is at Loans Desk 1, next to the RBR section. In addition to the physical Media Collection, the Library provides NUS faculty members and students online access to media materials through our subscribed databases.

Movies
Movies are acquired to support teaching and learning needs. The movies cannot be borrowed for entertainment use by staff or student bodies. Public screening of movies requires copyright clearance which is not within the purview of the Library. More information on screening guidelines are available at Student Leaders Handbook  (pg 18).

Documentaries and training films
These are nonfictional films acquired to support curriculum needs. Some documentaries are available in digital format for direct linking to IVLE.

 

Options for lecturers

1. Order and place the media material in the library for users to view on their own

Students can only view such materials in the library. Lecturers can reserve and borrow the item out for 3 days using the Advance Booking Form for Media Materials  online form.

2. Borrow the material out for screening in class.

Lecturers can reserve and borrow the item out for 3 days using the Advance Booking Form for Media Materials  online form. Please note item should be used only in the course of instruction within the University campus.

3. Assign a media material that is available online via one of our media database libraries

We have access to various online databases that provide live streaming of documentries etc such as Filmakers Library Online,  Naxos Video Library

4. Request digitalization of audo or media material

Under the current copyright guidelines, feature films and music recordings are not permitted to be digitized in part (excerpts) or in whole. For other video recordings, we will negotiate the necessary licensing with the copyright owners.

Requests are handled on a case-by-case basis, and take at least 3 weeks. Video recordings produced prior to 1990 may be difficult to secure clearance as the rights owners may have changed or no longer exist; we encourage you to refresh your course materials and use the latest recordings whenever possible. Requests are also subject to pricing consideration and MDA classification.

5. Request for recording of TV Programmes for off-air showing

The off-air recording must NOT be used except in the course of instruction within the campus. 

 

Search for videos

Also try the following film databases

 

LibGuide Chat

Mon-Fri: 9am - 5pm (Email/Call us)

Type in your query in the chat box & get a real-time answer!

Click on the green arrow button to "pop up" the chat.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip