Skip to main content
Banner Image

New to NUS Guide: E-Resources, Exam Papers...

E-Resources: e-Books, e-Journals, e-Newspapers...

E-Resources are part of the “Invisible Web” which is essentially information accessible through the Internet but normally cannot be found on Google. Most E-Resources are not freely available to everyone on the World Wide Web (exceptions are free or Open Access resources) and they may not appear on search engines like Google.

An E-resource may be available in the following formats:

  • A bibliographic or full text database that allows you to search for relevant articles in your subject area
  • A book, journal or newspaper that has been made available in electronic format
  • A set of web pages.

Access to e-Resources

Most E-Resources subscribed by the NUS libraries contain password-protected Web contents which are available only to staff and students. Browse  e-Resources here.

Search e-Resources via the Library portal

  1. Enter the title of e-Resource in FindMore@NUSL.


Alternative access to e-Resources

If you try to access E-Resources without going through the library portal, you may not be able to authenticate and gain access to the resource. Workarounds for this include the following:

Refer to our e-Book guide for detailed lists and  access to E-Books packages subscribed by NUS Libraries. Access to the subscribed E-Books titles is restricted to NUS staff and students only. Please observe copyright rules when downloading or printing full texts.

Browse e-Books  by:


Search for e-Books

  1. Enter the e-book title in FindMore

2. At the results page, click on either the title or the icon eBook: Full Text Online to view full text:


3. The full catalogue record will be displayed as shown below:

An electronic journal is a journal title which is reproduced in electronic format. The E-journal duplicates the original print version  including advertisements, cover, back, the order of the articles, etc.

An E-journal can only be searched across its volumes and issues, or the complete run. When you search an electronic journal, you are searching one journal source for information on your subject matter.

To search for e-journals via the Library portal:

This basic guide helps you locate a specific newspaper title using LINC, the default library catalogue search in NUS Libraries. This consists of the following steps:

(i) Checking the physical location of newspaper (Where is the newspaper physically located?)

(ii) Checking the status of the newspaper (Can I find older issues of newspapers?)

(iii) Checkout the newspaper if newspaper is available for loan (How do I check-out the newspaper?)

i(v) Placing a hold on item if item is already borrowed or in closed stacks (How do I place a hold or request if the newspaper is in microform?)

Searching for newspapers

Let's say you are looking for a specific newspaper, where you either know the  

(i) Title of the newspaper(e.g. Straits Times)

(ii) Call number (e.g AN Mal.St.T)

and enter them into LINC. If you are using FindMore@NUSL, use the newspaper title only.

An example of a newspaper search in FindMore@NUSL. Certain major titles will have a suggested link that leads to the LINC record.


An example of a newspaper search in LINC, with the electronic and print versions:

screencap of LINC search

A database is an index to a collection of journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, etc. You can search a database 
for information  (on a particular subject, keyword, author, etc.) across multiple sources  (journals, newspapers, etc.) simultaneously. Hence when you use a database, you are searching many sources for information on your subject matter.

There are many databases subscribed by NUS Libraries, most contain journal articles from various journals, while others has other types of content. For example Factiva and LexisNexis Academic contain newspaper articles, while ARTstor is an image database. Most article databases are specialized for specific disciplines, eg EconLIT is for Economics, PsycINFO is for Psychology, though some like Scopus or Web of Science span several disciplines. 

To access databases via the Library portal:

Not sure which database to use?
You can browse by subject or type or check out the recommended databases in subject guides compiled by our Resource Librarians.

 Types of databases

  • Full-text Databases
    JSTOR is an example of a database  that provides full-texts (usually PDF and/or html) of the articles (though not all are subscribed by NUS Libraries).
  • Abstracting and Indexing databases
    ScopusWeb of Science, PubMed , Sociological Abstracts, Psycinfo, ERIC are examples of  abstracting and indexing databases. They generally contain the meta-data (title, author etc) and abstract. Links to full-texts are available through clicking on our link resolver  .

     
  • Specialized Subject Databases
    PubMed, Psychinfo, EconLit and Engineering Village 2 cover specialized materials in specific subject areas.
     
  • Multidisciplinary Databases
    Scopus and the Web of Science 
    are cross-disciplinary databases that provide useful tools for tracking the number of times an article has been cited by other works/authors.

For students’ convenience, past- year NUS exam papers (from the previous 5 years) are available online from the library portal at Exam Papers search tab (see screenshot below). Students can access them via the library portal using the module code.

Please note that not all modules have past year exam papers available for downloading. Some modules are too new, others the departments have chosen not to release, so there might be a listing in the database but the paper cannot be downloaded.

Loading

FAQs about E-Resources

Related Guides

LibGuide Chat