Skip to main content
Banner Image

New to NUS Guide: For Teaching

Services (E-Forms); IVLE Readings

To access library services via our e-Forms:

  1. Go to Library portal
  2. Look for Quick Links on the right panel. Scroll down to select More Services and E-Forms for...
  3. Select Academic/Executive/Professional Staff


4. At the SERVICES FOR ACADEMIC/EXECUTIVE/PROFESSIONAL STAFF   page, click on the required Library services available via e-forms, Scroll down to the bottom for Services for Teaching.

The Integrated Virtual Learning Environment or IVLE is the National University of Singapore's in-house course management system.

 IVLE is the online gateway to teaching and learning in NUS. IVLE is also the conduit through which you can access several administrative and library functions.
These include the following:

  • Manage modules,
  • Collaborate and communicate with students and fellow staff,
  • Promote exploratory and independent learning,
  • Ease administrative workload,
  • Access the University's teaching and learning resources, and

The IVLE system is managed by the Centre for Instructional Technology (CIT) . You can refer to the IVLE Staff User Guide by CIT for more information on how to use the system.

 

To submit readings for your modules, use the online form or email us.

What are E-Reserves?
E-Reserves contain book chapters and/or journal articles in electronic format (PDF or hyperlinks). These readings are recommended by teaching staff and are uploaded in IVLE:Two types of e-Reserves:

1. Articles that are already subscribed by our online collection (Library Staff will insert the links to the resource for you)

2. Articles, book chapters that are not in our online collection. (Requires submission of copyright declaration (S52) form and copy of the readings, preferably in PDF)

Loading

Bibliographic Management Software

EndNote X7 is available from the NUS Computer Centre's Software Catalogue.

EndNote is a software that:

  • stores and organizes references found from many sources
  • inserts these references into a Word document 
  • automatically formats your references according to a predefined citation style, and more! 

If you're new to EndNote, check out the Installation Instructions and Step by Step Guide.


Mendeley is a citation management tool that, like many others, lets you collect & organize citations, & then easily insert them into documents & format bibliographies.  But it also lets you drag & drop PDFs into your library & extracts the metadata to create a library!

You can highlight and annotate your PDFs and share them with others.  Colleagues can then also annotate the same document, with each author displaying as a different color.

Use more than one computer?  It's not a problem!  Download Mendeley Desktop to as many computers as you want, then sync them with a click of your mouse.  Need to use your library away from your computer?  Mendeley Web gives you access to your citations no matter where you are.

Mendeley is social:  create a profile, follow other researchers, create a network of people doing similar research.  Discover the articles and journals that are being read in your field right now.

Create collections of papers.  Make them public & share them with an RSS feed (great for class reading lists!).

Click here to learn more about Mendeley!


Zotero - Collect, Organize, Cite and Share your Research Sources
Zotero is a free bibliographic citation management software that allows you to save, collect, manage, cite, and share research sources. Zotero is available either as a Firefox extension or as standalone software that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari browsers. It works right in your browser, making it easy to save you citations while you search.

Use the Zotero word processor plugins to easily cite your sources and create a bibliography while you work.

Note: While Zotero is a free software, the Zotero cloud storage has a limit of 2 gigabyte. Anything more than 2 gigabyte, you would have to pay for extra storage.

Loading

Teaching support for modules

What are RBR or "red spot" books?  
Commonly known as "red spot books"  or "books on reserve", RBR are books recommended by lecturers for a specific module.
These compulsory texts  can be borrowed for 2 hours at a time. More on RBR

How to place books for a module into the RBR collection: 
  1. Go to Library portal.
  2. Scroll down and select the menu Services for...Academic/Executive/Professional Staff .
  3. Log in with your NUSNET ID and password when prompted.
  4. At the subsequent page, select the menu Place Materials in Reserve Books & Readings (RBR)
  5. Complete the E-form and submit.

Alternatively, email a copy of the reading list to our Loans & Membership section.

 

The number of copies to be placed in the RBR collection will depend on the class size (roughly 1:60 but this can vary). If the material you intend to place is not available in NUS Libraries (check here), we will place an order and subsequently processed the title for RBR.

 FAQs On RBR

How to submit E-Reserves?

  1. Go to Library portal
  2. Look for Quick Links on the right panel. Scroll down to select More Services and E-Forms for...
  3. Select Academic/Executive/Professional Staff
  4. Log in with your NUSNET ID and password when prompted.
  5. At the subsequent page, scroll down to Services for Teaching and select Place Book Chapter/Journal Article in IVLE/E-Reserves
  6. Complete the E-form and submit.

The NUS Library E-Reserves Team oversees the process of obtaining copyright and digitization of E-Reserves on behalf of teaching staff . E-Reserves are published in IVLE for a specific module. Click here for FAQS on E-Reserves

The library has a good collection of videos, feature films and other multimedia that you can use for education purposes (how to check).

For questions about acquisition, screening , digitization of videos.

Other media related services that we offer include the following::

  • Digitization of Audio/Video Materials
  • Recording of TV Programmes

You can book our Library theatrettes  for screening of multimedia programmes  related to your teaching modules.

Click here for Guide for Video-on-Demand

Our Resource Librarians provide customized tutorials and advisory sessions for staff and students. These sessions ensure that students are able to retrieve quality information from the vast amount of resources available for teaching and research.

Request for Customised Library Tutorial for Students

Loading

Other teaching services

The NUS Centre for Instructional Technology provides teaching related services that you may find useful. 

These include

Chat with us!