LibGuides: E-Books: Main

Overview of Institutional and Personal Licensed eBooks

There are different licensing models for eBooks, similar to the personal and corporate licensed versions of software. The Library only purchases academic eBooks on an institutional license. This means that the eBooks can be accessed by the entire University. As such, we only purchase eBooks from publishers and vendors who allow for an institutional license to their products.

This is different from purchasing eBooks from commercial platforms such as Amazon and eBay, as those eBooks are sold on a personal user license and are not for institutional use.

The eBooks available in NUS Libraries also differ from those from the National Library Board (NLB) in terms of content and loan period. Except for eTextbooks, you can access the NUS Libraries eBooks without having to borrow or return them due to the recurring need for these eBooks for research, learning, and teaching purposes.

The download and print restrictions on each eBook platform varies from publisher and copyright policy. Please click here for a summary of the different access restrictions from the eBook platforms available in the Library's collection.

List of eBooks by Publishers and Platforms

Access Medicine
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 85 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
ACLS Humanities
A digital collection of full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twelve learned societies, nearly 95 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michiganʼs Scholarly Publishing Office. The collection includes both in- and out-of-print titles ranging from the 1880s through 2007.
ASME
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Press publishes high-quality professional and reference works, handbooks, select non-ASME conference proceedings, as well as advanced monographs in established and emerging areas of interest to mechanical engineers and allied disciplines. The ASME Digital Collection currently contains over 160 new and classic eBooks
Bentham Science
A select collection of Bentham Science ebooks accessible on IG platform. Subjects covered include pharmaceutical, biomedical, medical, engineering, technology, computer and social sciences.
BRILL
A collection of e-books published by BRILL on Human rights & Humanitarian law, International Law, Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Middle East & Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and World Christianity, Social Science, Language and Linguistics, Jewish Studies, African Studies, Biology and International Relations.
Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online
This is the first online collection of Brill’s acclaimed series of Companions in Classical Studies. It consists of 27 volumes, ranging from Homer to Ovid and from Aegean Greece in the Fourth Century BC to Flavian Rome.
Brill Online Reference Works
A collection of reference works spanning the subject areas of African studies, Asian studies, Biblical and Religious studies, Classical studies, History, Law, International Relations, Jewish studies, Language and Linguistics as well as Middle East and Islamic studies.
British Standards Institution
A collection of e-books published by British Standards Institution (BSI) on best practices in all business and industry sectors including including construction, engineering, fire, IT, health & safety, BCM, risk and security.
Business Expert Press (BEP)
A collection of Business Expert Press e-books in areas such as International Business, Strategic Management, Managerial Accounting, Corporate Communications, Financial Accounting, Human Resource Management and Organizational Behavior.
Cambridge Books Online
Cambridge Books Online offers access to more than 20,000 e-books from Cambridge University Press covering the following subjects: Science & Technology, Maths & Statistics, Law, Economics & Management, Medical, Sociology & Psychology, History, Politics and Literature & Classics.
Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions Online offers subject-based collections of Cambridge titles based on the Cambridge Companions series. The library subscribes to The Complete Cambridge Companions containing essays, taken from 601 Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics (335 volumes), Philosophy, Religion and Culture (199 volumes) and Music (67 volumes).
China Digital Library 中华数字书苑 (Apabi)
A collection of Chinese language ebooks covering a wide variety of subject areas, including Chinese business, management, economics, history, literature and politics. Users can search using Chinese characters. Apabi Reader is required to view fulltext ebooks. Apabi Reader can be downloaded the database website.
EBSCO E-Books (formerly NetLibrary)
EBSCO E-Books offers easy-to-use functionality with access to multiple formats and best-selling titles from the world's leading publishers.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere Primarily in English - also includes other languages.
EEBO: Early English books Online
EEBO contains facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Elgar Online
Online platform for Edward Elgar Publishing's books, including scholarly monographs, Research Handbooks, companions and more. NUS Libraries has access to 4 monograph collections in Law, Economics, Business and Management and Social and Political Science from 2007 onwards.
Emerald E-book Series Collection
Consists of two Collections in Business, Management & Economics and the Social Sciences. Access to the two eBook Series Collections is from 1991 onwards.
Future Medicine
A collection of e-books on post-genomic medicine covering subject areas including: cardiology, dermatology, hematology, immunology, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology and respiratory medicine.
IEEE-Wiley
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library, accessible via the IEEE Xplore digital library is a collection of more than 400 e-books covering subjects including Bioengineering, Power & Energy and Communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
IGI Global InfoSci
A collection of full-text chapters in PDF from 3000 scholarly books and reference works of scholarly research on advanced computer science and information technology research. NUS has access to selected titles published from 2000 onwards.
Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS)
A collection of over 429 books published by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies between 1980 to 2012 on the socio-political, security, and economic trends and developments in Southeast Asia.
IWA Publishing
A collection of e-books, research reports, research papers and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater and related environmental topics published by IWA Publishing and accessible via Water Intelligence Online. NUS has access to selected e-books published from 2002 onwards.
Karger
S. Karger is an independent, family-owned publishing company devoted entirely to medicine and science. It serves the information needs of the scientific community producing close to 80 scientific journals and about 150 serial and non-serial book titles and supplement or themed journal issues per year, primarily in English.
Momentum Press
A small collection of Momentum Press e-books on IG platform in subjects such as engineering & technology; clinical medicine & dentistry; physics, science and social sciences.
Morgan & Claypool
Two Series available: SYNTHESIS Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (1 -5) of short lecture-sized books on computer science, electrical engineering, bioengineering, and general engineering and Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences (1 & 2 ) comprising short lecture-sized books on bioengineering, cell biology, physiology, neurology and medicine.
National Taiwan University Press e-book collection 国立台湾大学出版中心电子书资料库
A collection of e-books published by National Taiwan University Press (NTU Press) and hosted on the IG Publishing platform.
Nordic Institute of Asian Studies
A collection of 91 e-books published by the Nordic Institute of Asian Studies areas such as social sciences and history dealing with contemporary Southeast Asia and East Asia.
OECD iLibrary E-books
Collection of e-books published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.
OVID / Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW)
A selection of Books@Ovid, the world’s largest online collection of core clinical texts.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online includes over 500 handbooks covering a range of in-depth scholarly articles in 14 subjects such as Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology and Religion.
Oxford Quick Reference Collection
The Oxford Quick collection includes a core foundation of 135+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted, trusted short-entry content. Content is updated monthly and spans 25 different subject areas, ranging from Archaeology, History, to Law, Linguistics and the Social Sciences.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
An interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities. It includes access to Renaissance Drama, Renaissance Poetry, Renaissance Prose, Shakespeare, Early 17th Century Drama, Early 17th Century Poetry, Early 17th Century Prose, 18th Century Drama, 18th Century Poetry, 18th Century Prose.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A collection of full text and abstracts of classic and newly published books by Oxford University Press. Subject Modules available for access include Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics & Finance, History, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Physics, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Law, Religion from 2007 onwards. Also available are select titles in the Palliative Care module (67 titles).
Rare Books on Burma
Titles from the Rare Books on Burma collection were published in English during the 18th and 19th centuries; covering a wide area on history, cultural anthropology, archaeology, religious studies, art history, political science and musicology.
Referex e-books (on ScienceDirect platform)
A collection of engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books (previoulsy on EV2 platfrom) is now availalbe for access via ScienceDirect platform.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
An online collection of over 1000 chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry with copyright year starting from 2008 onwards.
Sage Knowledge
A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology. Collections available for access on this platform include: Sage References, Sage Knowledge ebooks; SRMO ebooks and Sage Navigator.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect covers around one quarter of the world’s full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, and continues to deliver new programs of high-quality online content that researchers need for their work. ScienceDirect offers a growing range of authoritative books, including reference works, handbooks and book series. Recent additions include: ScienceDirect E-TextBooks, ScienceDirect Legacy collection which is a collection of Elsevier historical book content in central scientific collections, Referex e-books and selected titles from Woodhead Materials and Engineering collections.
SPIE
Over 150 books, published by Society of Photographic Instrumentation Engineers in optics & photonics from these 3 series: SPIE Press Monographs, Tutorial Texts, and Field Guides. NUS Libraries has access to selected titles published between 1989 and 2014.
Springer Book Archives
The Springer Book Archives consists of digital versions of books from Springer published between 1842 and 2004. It includes many out-of-print titles whose fulltext are accessible via the Springer platform.
Springer Protocols
A database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences. Organized in 15 subjects, protocols provide instructions for the design and implementation of experiments that include the safety bias, procedural equipment, statistical methods, reporting, and troubleshooting standards for the experiment. It is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink E-Books is a comprehensive database for digitized full-text books covering the following subject areas : Architecture and Design, Behavioural Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Energy, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Professional and Applied Computing. NUS has access to most titles published between from 2005 onwards.
Taylor & Francis
A multi-disciplinary collection of over 50,000 titles. Subjects covered include: Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, STM and Law.
The Making of Modern law
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas covered include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. It contains books and journal volumes with 19th century imprints. 61,000 titles published from 1450 to 1850.
Thieme
Collection of selected Thieme Clinical e-books published from 2000 -2013. Subjects covered include neurosurgery, orthopedics, radiology, anatomy and chemistry.
Thomas Telford
Thomas Telford Books is one of the leading providers of authoritative and comprehensive information for professionals and academics in civil engineering and construction world-wide. Publications include multi-author reference works, state-of-the-art reports, technical books, conference proceedings and contract documents. NUS has selected titles published up to 2010.
UPCC Book Collections on MUSE
UPCC (University Press Content Consortium) Book Collections on Project MUSE offering thousands of books covering a variety of subjects from noted university presses and scholarly publishers. NUS has subscriptions for the complete 3 year bundle from 2010 to 2012 and Complete collections for 2013 & 2014.
University Press Scholarship Online
UPSO offers full-text access to some of the best scholarly publishing from around the world. NUS has access to approximately 20,367 titles from the following 21 University Presses: California, MIT, Chicago, Stanford, Yale, Hong Kong, Manchester, Policy Press and British Academy.
Wiley InterScience
A collection of e-books published by Wiley InterScience or Blackwell Synergy across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Available for access are online book titles with print-pub-years starting from pre-1999 to 2013, and those with print-pub-years 2013 & 2014 online Frontlists.
Woodhead Publishing
A collection of e-books from the 2010 and 2011 Woodhead Publishing Materials and Engineering Collections.These books are accessible on ScienceDirect platform as of January 2015.
World Scientific
A collection of e-books from 2005 published by World Scientific in 16 subject areas such as Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences.

E-Books

Acquisitions Librarian

ERM Librarian

Overview of Institutional and Personal Licensed eBooks

List of eBooks by Publishers and Platforms