EndnoteFind it @ NUS LibrariesGoogle Scholar & Proxy Bookmarklet
This is the "Databases" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to access the vast array of resources the Libraries has in relation to Sociology
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nus.edu.sg/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts better meets the needs of Sociology undergraduates and others who conduct scholarly sociology research. It has been, and remains, the more inherently reliable and authoritative bibliographic resource for the indexing, abstracting, and researching of scholarly sociological literature.

 

Newspapers


News and business information from 25,000 leading news and business publications from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages. It includes daily and archival news coverage of globally influential newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, South China Morning Post, The Times, and local newspapers such as The Straits Times and Business Times. 


Access to 6,000 titles in news, business and legal information. Includes full text coverage of industry and market news, company financial information, accounting information, law reviews, state and country profiles from newspapers, wire services, magazines and trade journals, and U.S. federal and state case law.

 
An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. Search for National Library's digital archive of English language newspapers published between 1831-2006. Find information on over 200 newspapers titles in the NLB microfilms collection.

For more online newspapers, look under Resources -- E-newspapers.

 

JSTOR



This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

 

Scopus



Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Updated daily, Scopus covers 29 million abstracts of over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers, 265 million references. In many ways similar to Web of Science , use them for a broader interdisciplinary search.

 

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

x

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

 

Bibliography of Asian Studies



Contains citations to Western-language monographs, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Asia published since 1971.

 

  ScholarBank



ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office

 

Web of Science

 

Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

 

ICPSR

ICPSR is the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research and is the world's largest social science data archive. It is an international consortium of over 700 academic institutions and research organizations, provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. NUS has an institutional membership to ICPSR.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.

It hosts thematic collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

For help in using ICPSR, see ICPSR Data Use Tutorial.

 

PERIND

 
It is an index to periodical articles relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN (as an entity) contains citations from more than 250 core titles of local, regional and international journals. The bulk of the citations is in English and most of them date from 1980 except for medical citations (from 1975) and legal citations (from 1932). The subjects covered range from the humanities and social sciences to business and management, architecture, building, law and medicine.

 

Working papers

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip