General Economics guide listing relevant popular databases & journals.
For medical statistics take a look at the Medical subject guide page on health statistics.
- Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
A source for research and instructions for finding and using statistics on Singapore. An annotated bibliography
10,182 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 2, 2013
Find out how to search for market information using secondary sources of information
4,593 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 3, 2013
7,098 views this year
These are free and paid databases, maintained by either commericial outfits or by international agencies like the UN, WTO, World Bank etc,
- CEIC Data Manager
Highly recommended for wide source of country data though data series is not harmonized. Only 2 Concurrent accesses at a time.
- China Data Online
Comprehensive source of China Data. If you are looking for China related statistics please use this first.
- China Statistical Yearbooks Database
Various China statistical yearbook online including CHINA STATISTICAL YEARBOOK, CHINA CITY STATISTICAL YEARBOOK, CHINA POPULATION & EMPLOYMENT STATISTICS YEARBOOK etc
- EIU CityData
- EIU CountryData
EIU CountryData provides data for 317 series on 150 countries running from 1980 onwards through a powerful, yet intuitive interface. For the 82 most important markets, key variables are additionally projected to 2030 in order to facilitate business planning.
- EIU MarketIndicators
- Global Market Information Database (GMID)
Good for statistics on countries markets, consumer lifestyles and companies. Some are exportable to spreadsheet format.
- OECD iLibrary
Good source for FDI. Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals. Mostly OECD country, though there are statistics for bigger countries like China, Indonesia.
- World Development Indicators (WDI)
Offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 600 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data is best for social type data but also good for economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- Global Competitiveness Report
- IEA Statistics - access via SourceOECD
IEA statistics. Good source of energy related items. Including Coal, Natural gas, electricity etc Includes prices, supply, demand, import, exports going back as far as 1960
- International Financial Statistics (IFS)
There is a known issue where the new interface is unable to access historical data. The eresource team is investigating. (29 September 2011), for now some of the data is available in CEIC
or the hard copies
- Monthly statistical bulletin (United Nations Statistics Division)
Produced by the United Nations Statistics Division, coverage includes global statistical information, statistical methods, classifications and definitions. Many of the Division's databases are also available on this site including Monthly Bulletin of Statistics, Statistical Yearbook and World Statistics Pocketbook.
- Statistics Database (World Trade Organisation)
Provides access to statistical information on trade profiles, tariff profiles and Time Series on merchandise and commercial services trade by WTO.
- World Competitiveness Yearbook
- World Economic Outlook Reports
- Global Development Finance
- Africa Development Indicators
- Education Statistics (World Bank Open Data)
- Gender Statistics (World Bank Open Data)
- World Bank's Open Data Catalog (several sources)
Provides data from free sources including BP, EuroStat, UN, World Bank, U.S. Geological Survey, Pew Research Center etc. Free registration. Datasets can be downed in csv formats.
- World Religion database
"The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050."
- World Health Organization
Contains the annual World Health Reports and access to statistical information such as the Global Health-For-All Indicators, the Mortality Database, Weekly Epimiological Record, Demographic and Health Surveys, etc. The WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) also enables searching of WHO information by disease topic, and includes links to selected statistical tools and applications useful in epidemiological and statistical work.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Features useful resources such as reports on sexually transmitted diseases, HIV/AIDS, birth defects, tuberculosis, and assisted reproductive technology success rates in the United States.
- National Center for Health Statistics
Includes the National Health Interview Survey, the National Immunization Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, the National Survey of Family Growth, the National Health Care Survey, the National Employer Health Insurance Survey, the National Mortality Followback Survey, and the National Vital Statistics System consisting of the Birth Data and Mortality Data.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
This series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes useful links to health related resources such as the EPO (Epidemiology Program Office) Publications and Software, U.S. State Health departments, and other health resources on the Internet.
- National Institutes of Health
This metasite contains hundreds of links to useful resources on Health Information, Scientific Resources, Institutes and Offices, Grants and Contracts, News and Events, etc. The NIH Health Information Index features an alphabetical list of information on diseases, NIH research areas, and important health-related topics.
- Action For AIDS Statistics
Published statistics on reported HIV infections/AIDS.
- Singapore Health Facts
Maintained by the Ministry of Health, Singapore. It contains statistical information on the population and vital statistics in Singapore, principal causes of death, health facilities, health manpower, childhood immunisation, government health expenditure, etc.
- Statististics from Singapore Statutory Boards
"This annotated bibliography aims to help library users identify relevant publications held in the NUS Library and relevant Web sites containing statistical data on Singapore for the period 1965 onwards." ~ Aaron Tay, NUS librarian
- World Health Organization: Singapore
Country information published by WHO. Such as health, demographic, health-related economic indicators, health legislation.
- World Health Organization: Western Pacific Regional Office: Country Health Information Profile: Singapore
Country health information published by WHO Western Pacific Region. Such as country health situation and trends, health status, National health priorities, health resources, and WHO Collaborative Programmes.
You can also use LINC to search for statistics. Do a LINC search by subject.
Look out in particular for subject headings that say --statistics--periodicals, these are usually official statistics handbooks or yearbooks by each country's statistics department/division/office/bureau and are full of information.
Search over 6,000,000 financial, economic and social datasets
- Data Market
Aggregates data from data providers like Eurostat, Gap Minder, World Bank and more.
These are free datasets provided by governments
- Panel Study of Income Dynamics
"The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), begun in 1968, is a longitudinal study of a representative sample of U.S. individuals (men, women, and children) and the family units in which they reside. It emphasizes the dynamic aspects of economic and demographic behavior, but its content is broad, including sociological and psychological measures."
- Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (International)
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series International database contains 397 million person census records from 62 countries around the world. Some data dates to 1960. Registration and approval is required to obtain and utilize the data and is strictly for study and research purposes.
- Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (USA)
"The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2009. Some of these samples have existed for years, and others were created specifically for this database."
- National Longitudinal Surveys - Bureau of Labor Statistics (US)
"The National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers."
- A guide to longitudinal resources
"This site aims to provide an up-to-date guide to major longitudinal sources of data. The central purpose of this site is to allow users to see what kinds of longitudinal data are available and to locate information about studies which may provide data useful to their research interests."
- Other Panel Data
- Survey Meta Data Repository - RAND
Search Longitudinal studies for micro data relating to Health, ageing and family. Includes Korean, China, Indonesian studies. Some of the studies allow data to be downloaded on request.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- WHO SAGE Data
WHO Study on global AGEing and adult health (SAGE). Datasets from 70 countries available on request through WHO at no cost. "The SAGE survey instruments assessed health status and health systems from a household and individual perspective."
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Education related data
"Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data."
Sometimes the data you need is available for free on the country's statistical agency's website. Not sure where that is? Try the 2 lists below.
Sometimes a obscure statistic can be found in a diagram in a book or journal article. Do a search in Google Books or Google Scholar to check for this. Google Books might not give you access to the full book but limited preview mode might allow access to the diagram or graph. Journal articles often state where the data source is from, so this will give you a clue as well where to look for the statistics you need.
Cheng Eng Aun
NUS Central Library
+65 6516 2021