Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Medicine Y1: Information Literacy: Library Essentials

NUS Libraries (Medical Library) Orientation

This guide is for students who use NUS Libraries ( Medical Library) and require health related information 

New Students Orientation

PubMed Online Tutorials

What is LibKey Nomad

 

LibKey Nomad logo
 

 

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a Chrome browser extension that provides single click access to library content from publisher websites, PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, Wikipedia and more.

How do you install Nomad?

Installation in Chrome, Edge, Brave & Vivaldi is simple! Just visit libkeynomad.com and click the "Add to Chrome" button. Since these browsers are all based on Chromium, they can use the Chrome store extension. Your browser will then ask you to confirm. Select NUS as the institution and you are all set.
Alternatively, visit Chrome Web Store and search for "LibKey Nomad" to install it.

Do you need to create an account to use Nomad?

No! There are no user accounts to create, the extension does not ask for or store your institutional user credentials. Nomad is active only when the user is on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database, all other domains are ignored.

Where to find more information?

You can refer to LibKey Nomad Technical FAQ

How does it look like?

LibKey with Chrome image    LibKey on PubMed image    LibKey on Wikipedia image

What do all the labels mean?

Here is a detailed description of what each of these labels means:
Download PDF - In a single click, the user should either see a PDF on their screen or be prompted to download a PDF immediately. If authentication is required for the user, they will be prompted to sign in, turn on their VPN, etc as required. The PDF document is either coming directly from the publisher or is the publisher's version (according to unpaywall data) but held in a repository such as PubMed Central, EuroPMC or a university repository.
Article Link - The same as the above with the exception that the user will NOT see a PDF, they will see a web page which either has the full text in HTML or also has the PDF, but one more link is required to access it.
Manuscript PDF - The article has been found in the form of an Accepted Manuscript in a repository. While the content has been peer-reviewed it is unlikely to be formatted for publishing so may appear as an unformatted Word Document, etc. These documents never require authentication.
Manuscript Link - Same as the above, except one more click is required to get to the PDF, if the PDF is even available. No authentication is required.
Access Options - The library's link resolver will be linked here.

Love it or hate it?

Let us know by dropping us an email!

How can I connect Google Scholar to the NUS Libraries resources?

Set up findit3 to locate full texts of Google Scholar search results

Google Scholar results will link you directly to the required online journal article or book chapter but you will likely not have access to the full-text particularly if the source title is subscribed by the Library. This is because you are not authenticated via NUS Library proxy. To access the full-text, set up your Google Scholar settings to link it to the NUS Libraries' collections. The steps are as follows:

  1. ​Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com). At the top left panel, click on the hamburger menu icon (Google Scholar tends to move this icon around quite a bit!):

GS

  1. Select Settings on the resulting screen. Click on Library Links:

GS_library_links

  1. At the "Show library access..." screen, key in NUS and click Enter.  Uncheck the box for "Open World Cat..." if it was checked by default earlier on. Click Save:

  1. Now you're ready test if your settings work. Search for a topic in Google Scholar for example Forest City Malaysia Chinese. The findit3 links will now appear to the right of some articles in your search results.  Click on these links to see if the full texts are available in our collection.

cautionGoogle Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles.  The Find It! button won't work for document types that are only available in print (not online).

About Proxy Bookmarklet

The proxy bookmarklet automatically inserts the NUS Library proxy stem (libproxy1.nus.edu.sg) into the URL of an article/e-book. Once you have successfully installed the bookmarklet in your browser, simply click on it when you are on the vendor/publisher page that requires you to pay or login to view full text. The system checks if the required title is within the Library's subscription. If yes, the page reloads and subsequently provides you with the full text options.

What if you get an error message or still cannot access full text using the proxy bookmarklet?

cautionThe proxy bookmarklet may not work in the following conditions:

  • NUS Libraries do not have a subscription to the title.
  • NUS Libraries have not yet configured the proxy to work with that page.

If for some reasons, the proxy bookmarklet does not yield any results, search for the source title in the library catalogue. It is possible that the required title is available via another vendor site or in print copy (not online).

Installation instructions for different browsers

Google Chrome Chrome
  1. Click (hold) and drag this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet> to the "Bookmarks" bar.
    If you don't see your Bookmark bar, go to the top right, click the "Customize and control Google Chrome icon" chromeoptions > select Settings > under the Appearance section, select Show bookmarks bar button. 
    Alternatively press Ctrl + Shift + B.
Moxilla Firefox 
  1. Right click on this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet>
  2. Select "Bookmark This Link".
    Alternatively, click (hold) and drag the link to the "Bookmarks" toolbar.
Internet Explorer :
  1. Right click on this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet>.
  2. Select "Add to favorites...".
  3. If you wish to add to "Links", go to "Favorites" and drag and drop the bookmarklet to "Links".
Safari safari
  1. Click (hold) and drag this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet> to the "Bookmarks" bar.
Microsoft Edge edge
  1. You need to first save the bookmarklet into Internet Explorer or Chrome, then import the favorites into Edge. If you have existing favorites in Edge, you would need to delete them before re-importing.
Mac users Mac

   If you are having problems doing drag and drop in Safari or Chrome safari, do the following:

  1. Create a new bookmark of any page.
  2. Go into the browser and edit the name and the URL of the bookmarklet you just created. The name can be anything you choose but the URL should be ​javascript:void(location.href='http://libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/login?url='+location.href);​

Other alternative browsers (e.g Opera):

  1. In theory you can use any of the links above (e.g the link for Firefox) to create a bookmarklet as per the normal steps for that browser. However the library and most library databases from vendors do not officially support alternative browsers, so it is not advisable to surf library resources using these browsers. Even if the proxy bookmarklet works other problems might crop up.