Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

UTown Writing Modules (Level 1): UTW1001D

This is a guide for students taking the UTown Writing Modules. Find out what are the relevant resources for your modules by selecting the tabs below.

UTW1001D: Self, Society, and the Digital Tsunami Era

A library research session was conducted on 18 Feb, 10am. Powerpoint slides are available here.

 

Library research session

Hypothetical thesis statement:

The analysis of online love scams underscores the victim's agency in their perpetration

Database: Proquest

Selecting evidence of digital media implications

In addition to Proquest explore the following databases to search for cases or examples to support the on-going conversation of your research topic.

Factiva

  • News databases with over 30,000 news sources, updated daily.
  • Includes Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, South China Morning Post. etc.
  • Provides full-text of Straits Times articles starting from 1980s
  • Useful for news reports on incidences of online fraud, cybersecurity issues.
  • Also includes commentaries on issues such as AI and society, etc.
  • Cheatsheet on how to search full-text of Straits Times articles.

 

Business Source Premier

  • Includes business journals and magazines providing case studies.
  • Useful to find evidence on how organizations manage the application of digital media.

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete

  • Specialized database which focuses on journals and magazines on mass media.
  • Includes cases on how digital media is adopted and applied in different scenarios and environments.

Search operators and search symbols

Cheatsheet on search or Boolean operators and how they work

Short video on Boolean operator AND, OR and NOT.

Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Kah Wei Wong
Contact:
NUS Central Library

+ 65 6516 3132