Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UTW1001E : From Human to "Posthuman"
This U-Town module considers the question of what it is to be human in relation to the possiibilities of transforming ourselves through genetic, neuro-cognitive or cybernetic technologies. The module examines how significantly indiciduals, populations or the entire human species have to be changed to warrant the use of the term "posthuman" in describing them. How desirable would it be to transcend certain of our current limitations or to acquire completely new capabilities? You will explore these questions threough a critical examination of viewpoints expressed in schorly literature as well as in media.
Recommended Library Resources for This Module
FindMore is NUS Libraries' search engine for everything in the library's collection. It's a good place to start if you're not sure where, or if you don't have a specific search to begin with.
It is a good way to see what is available on a topic in the library's collections, be it in print or online fulltext format.
Factiva is a major newspaper database that covers many newspaoper sources, magazines and journals covering current and topical information about society, culture, film and media, technology, ethics and values in society..
Factiva is a good source of Singapore information as it covers Singapore newspapers comprehensively from the 1990s. Do remember however, that images are not available for local newspaper stories.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. The database monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. Our index currently contains 2,563,586 entries categorized in 5,671 categories.
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases
Comprehensive search of social sciences-focused databases, including: Sociological Abstracts, PILOTS, Periodicals Index Online, PAIS International, LLBA and more.
Though Scopus is primarily a database that is covering the Sciences, it also indexes the social sciences and the humanities increasingly. Given this, it can be a n useful database to search in for additional articles as well.
Other Useful Databases
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides secondary information through the indexes and abstracts of interenational journals, including fulltext articles covereing the performing arts, including film, theatre, dance and stagecraft as well as televiusion.
May be a useful resource if you are looking to write of film am television considering the topic of posthumanism.
JSTOR provides fulltext of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earilest issues to within a few years of the current publication. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basius.
Social Sciences Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
This Ebsco database abstrracts and indexes the latest concepts, theories amd methods from both trhe applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. The datrabase provides indexes and abstracts from English language social sciences journals.
This Proquest database provides abstracts to informational in the subject area of Sociology. The subject impinges on all aspects of society and hence, this database may lead you to oter interesting articles to supplement your writing on your given topic.
Web of Science
Like Scopus, Web of Science provides access to fulltext articles from high impact journals in the sciences as well as some humanities and saocial sciences.
Some Useful Tools
Find It@NUS Libraries
Instal this link to helpo you maximise your use of Google Scholar. The link will help you save much time and search effectively and efficiently for fulltext articles when using Google SAcholar..
This tool will insert the NUS Libraries proxy stem "libproxy1.nus.edu.sg" into the URL of an article link in your browser. Once this is successfully inserted on your PC or laptop, you can access fulltexts of journal articles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscription by clicking on the bookmarklet on any page that requires you to pay. This will then attempt to download the fulltext article via the NUS Libraries' subscription.
Harvard Citation Style
Harvard citation style is also known as the author-date referencing style. This guide will show you illustrations of common Harvard citations, guides for extensive needs for Harvard citation and some recommendations on how to manage citations in general.
Do take note that there is some slight variability amongst Harvard citations, such as in the dates and authors field. Make sure to check with your professor, lecturer or publisher to clarify what Harvard citation format to use when you are in doubt. Most importantly, whichever format you choose to use, it must be consistent across your entire assignment or thesis.
Other Citation Styles
Here you will be able to learn more about other citation styles that are available.
The guide will give you basic tips and introduce both online and print sources that will help you cite in a particular citation style.
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies.
Mendeley is a citation management tool that, like many others, lets you collect & organize citations, & then easily insert them into documents & format bibliographies. But it also lets you drag & drop PDFs into your library & extracts the metadata to create a library!
You can highlight and annotate your PDFs and share them with others. Colleagues can then also annotate the same document, with each author displaying as a different color.
Zotero is a free bibliographic citation management software that allows you to save, collect, manage, cite, and share research sources. Zotero is available either as a Firefox extension or as standalone software that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari browsers. It works right in your browser, making it easy to save you citations while you search.
Use the Zotero word processor plugins to easily cite your sources and create a bibliography while you work.