Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

UTown Writing Modules (Level 1): UTW1001O

This is a guide for students taking the UTown Writing Modules. Find out what are the relevant resources for your modules by selecting the tabs below.

         

Getting Search Alerts from Databases

Most vendors typically use one interface for the databases they offer.  Users can create search alerts across a number of databases by simply creating an account on the vendor website. Contact your resource librarian on how you may set up these alerts.

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Jamila Osman
Contact:
NUS Central Library
65162023

Research Librarian

Search Skills by NUS Libraries

Newspaper database

Factiva is a major source of e-newpapers. It provide business information and daily and archival news coverage from leading news and business publications from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages. It covers globally influential newspapers like The Wall Street Journal, The Times, local newspapers like The Straits Times, Business Times, web sources like Stomp and Channel News Asia and covers diverse industries including health care, education, etc.

ScholarBank

ScholarBank@NUS

ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Proquest Dissertations and Theses is now global! It covers the traditional theses from North American University as well as a significant amount of international dissertations. Do note that not all items are available in full text

JSTOR

JSTOR

This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

Social Science Database

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology

GALE Academic OneFile

GALE Academic OneFile provides articles from peer-reviewed scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, across multiple subject areas. These include videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN.

 

Scopus

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

Google Scholar

To gain access to full text from Google scholar, use the FindIt@NUS Libraries

Google Scholar Search