Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

UTown Writing Modules (Level 1): UTW1001A

This is a guide for students taking the UTown Writing Modules. Find out what are the relevant resources for your modules by selecting the tabs below.

Library Basics & Handouts

Library Basics:

If you are new to NUS and NUS Libraries, please visit our New to NUS Library Guide!

Writing & Citing

For your assignments, you will need to cite your references in APA 7th Edition so as to give credit to authors and also to avoid charges of plagiarism.

If you are unsure how to cite in APA 7th Edition, you can visit:

  1. This APA Citation Style Library Guide created by NUS Librarians
  2. Or watch this video on how to use Zoterobib

If you want to know more about plagiarism and more importantly, how to avoid it, click on the picture below to view the info-graphic on plagiarism created by your friendly NUS Librarians:

Or you can view this video if you prefer moving images:

One tool you can use to make your writing more efficient is to use Reference Managers like Zoterobib, which will help you manage and cite your references in the correct citation style that you need.

The following video will show you in 5 minutes, how to use Zoterobib:

Essential Databases

This is a list of essential databases for your exposition paper (Paper 3):

Evaluating Your Sources

Currency: The timeliness of the information

Having current information is usually recommended. Currency can be more important in some fields (like science and medicine) than in other fields (like humanities). Checking for currency is generally important because it ensures that you are not using information that has been supplanted with newer, better ideas and research. 

Consider the following questions:

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Does your topic require current information or will older sources also work?
  • Are the links functional?

currency

Credits: Content used on this page was adapted from:  Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test. The CRAAP Test was created by Sarah Blakeslee of the Meriam Library, California State University at Chico.

RelevanceThe importance of the information for your needs

All of the sources you use in your assignment should be relevant to your topic. While you may not find the perfect source that exactly captures all of your ideas, the sources you use should be related in some way.

Consider the following questions:

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

relevance

Credits: Content used on this page was adapted from:  Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test. The CRAAP Test was created by Sarah Blakeslee of the Meriam Library, California State University at Chico.

Authority: The source of the information

Authority provides us with the information that someone with expertise or experience in the topic is sharing their knowledge. The expertise or experience needs to be relevant to the topic.

Consider the following questions:

  • Who is the author / publisher / source / sponsor?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • What are the author's qualifications/expertise to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net* (More info about URLs and Internet Domains)

authority

Credits: Content used on this page was adapted from:  Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test. The CRAAP Test was created by Sarah Blakeslee of the Meriam Library, California State University at Chico.

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

Determining the accuracy of a source ensures that you are using information that is supported and free from errors.

Consider the following questions: 

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem biased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

accuracy

Credits: Content used on this page was adapted from:  Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test. The CRAAP Test was created by Sarah Blakeslee of the Meriam Library, California State University at Chico.

Purpose: The reason the information exists

Sources may be written to entertain, inform, persuade, or some other purpose. Understanding the purpose helps us to see if there are any biases or underlying motives that may affect the way the information is presented.  

Consider the following questions:

  • What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?
  • Do the authors / sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact? Opinion? Propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

purpose

Credits: Content used on this page was adapted from:  Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test. The CRAAP Test was created by Sarah Blakeslee of the Meriam Library, California State University at Chico.

Other Useful Databases

Name

Link

Description

JSTOR

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2073643

Most popular database among students. Contains important articles from several disciplines, however it does not have the latest articles because it aims to be a digital archive of high-impact journals.

Scopus

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2449676

Covers a wide range of topics. You can find the latest research here. Only has journal articles.

Web of Science

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b1988430

Similar to Scopus. Does not work in Internet Explorer browser.

Project Muse

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2231692

Although it is a multi-disciplinary database, it focuses more on the humanities. Other than journal articles, it also has book and book chapters to download.

Name

Link

Description

Social Science Abstract

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2070672

This database from Ebscohost covers various disciplines in the Social Sciences, such as Sociology, Geography and Political Science.

Communications & Mass Media Complete

https://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2540876

This database from Ebscohost is a specialized database that focuses on studies done on fields of mass media and communications.

PAIS Index

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2795347

This database chronicles the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b2795349

This database provides international literature on political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.

Name

Link

Description

Proquest Dissertation & Theses Global

http://linc.nus.edu.sg/record=b3220290

It is a full-text database that contains Masters and PhD-level dissertations mainly from the United States and United Kingdom. Many of these dissertations are not published as monographs, nonetheless it is still very useful.

Scholarbank@NUS

http://scholarbank.nus.edu.sg/

Under Electronic Thesis and Dissertations community, you will find MA and PhD thesis written by NUS students from Sep 2003. Anything before would exist in hardcopy and a selection are kept in the library.

Honours Thesis

http://libfaq.nus.edu.sg/faq/71319

This link contains more information and steps to search for honours thesis written by NUS students that are kept in the library.

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Nur Diyana
Contact:
NUS Central Library
66017086 | clbndak@nus.edu.sg

Fact Check!

FactCheck
Politifact
Snopes