A-Z Databases

The most frequently-used databases

ACM Digital Library

The ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library is a comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic citations covering the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books.

Business Source Ultimate

This business research database features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines (Accounting, Finance, Economics, Marketing, Management, Management information systems, Operations management). In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. In addition to full text for top nursing and allied health journals, it also provides full text for journals in other disciplines including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more.

Engineering Village

Engineering Village (EV) is the essential research database for engineering literature from journals, conferences proceedings, patents, e-books, and many more. Within a single interface, you could simultaneously search across four databases, namely Compendex, Inspec, NTIS and GeoBase. Compendex is the world's largest and comprehensive engineering database focusing primarily on applied engineering research while Inspec provides engineering research information mainly on physics, electrical engineering & electronics, computers & control, mechanical, production engineering, information technology & more. The thesauri on Engineering Village contains the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec and GEOBASE databases. This enables consistent and precise search and retrieval.

Factiva

Factiva provides access to global news and business information from approximately 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources, and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires.

IEEE Xplore

Provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.

JSTOR

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

ProQuest

This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., arts, business, criminology, economics, education, gender studies, health, literature, management, music, political science, social sciences, sociology etc. as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individual databases from the list which includes ABI/INFORM (for business information); Dissertations & Theses Global; Ethnic NewsWatch, Performing Arts Periodicals, Social Science Premium Collection and major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, Boston Globe, the Los Angeles Times, etc).

PubMed

PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 34 million citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others. Its citations and abstracts also include topics in biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences and bioengineering. The results display might include links to related resources and/or to full-text content from PubMed Central and other publishers. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.

Scopus

Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily

Statista

A statistical database containing data from government bodies, market research agencies, trade organisations and scientific publications.

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. It includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform and one of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, open access material etc. can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science also offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.

View All View Less

A-Z Databases

Featured Databases

Subject Resources

Guides by Subject