Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Architecture Research Methodology: Databases

This guide is relevant to Y4 and M.Arch students embarking on dissertation writing.

About Databases

Databases are a good for indepth research. They may contain articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, newspapers, chapters in books, reports and reviews.

AudioVisual

Also relevant but more specialised databases

Avery

Avery Index

This index offers a listing of journal articles published on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Most documents are NOT available in full text. Other relevant indices are Urban Studies Abstracts and the GREENfile, which are part of our subscription to the EBSCOhost collection. Note that Avery Index for publications from 1998 to 2004 is available on CD-ROM.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO

Provides abstracts and references to articles in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry and sociology. Includes dissertations, book chapters covering empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, and conference reports.

Datasets

Our World in Data (https://ourworldindata.org/https://ourworldindata.org/)

To aim of the site is to make available "Research and Data to make progress against the world's largest problems", and the main themes are Poverty, Disease, Hunger, Climate Change, War, Existential Risks and Inequality. The datasets are generally at regional, country and sometimes at city level, which makes it easier to do comparisons, but look out that you are using the same comparative years. Many of the datasets can be downloaded and re-used but do check if there are terms and conditions that apply for the dataset you want to use.

Singapore Statistics, aka SingStats (https://www.singstat.gov.sg/)

For statistics on most aspects of Singapore after 1992, this is your to-go site. Use the Singstats Table Builder feature to build the datasets you need as the data comes from over 60 government agencies, and part of the challenge is figuring out which agency does what. This is where you should consult a librarian at NUS Libraries, or your supervisor.  

Statistics databases

These are free and paid databases, maintained by either commercial outfits or by international agencies like the UN, WTO, World Bank etc,

JSTOR

JSTOR

This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

Scopus

Scopus


Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

Web of Science

Web of Science

Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

Proquest