Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Research Methods database
Archives focused on Asian Art
The Dissertation Reviews' listing of archives is a wonderful resource for research students, written by students based on their real experience in using archives. The section 'Fresh from the Archives' is especially helpful if you are preparing your trip.
Asian Art Archives (focused on East, South and Southeast Asia)
Sage Research Methods Online
Qualitative & Quantitative Methods
A rich resource of different methods that you can use to construct the methodology of your research project if it goes beyond architectural intervention.
Research Methods for Architecture
Architectural Research Methods by
Call Number: CL Books & IRC NA2000Gro 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-08
A practical guide to research for architects and designers--now updated and expanded! From searching for the best glass to prevent glare to determining how clients might react to the color choice for restaurant walls, research is a crucial tool that architects must master in order to effectively address the technical, aesthetic, and behavioral issues that arise in their work. This book's unique coverage of research methods is specifically targeted to help professional designers and researchers better conduct and understand research. Part I explores basic research issues and concepts, and includes chapters on relating theory to method and design to research. Part II gives a comprehensive treatment of specific strategies for investigating built forms. In all, the book covers seven types of research, including historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logical argumentation, and case studies and mixed methods. Features new to this edition include: Strategies for investigation, practical examples, and resources for additional information A look at current trends and innovations in research Coverage of design studio-based research that shows how strategies described in the book can be employed in real life A discussion of digital media and online research New and updated examples of research studies A new chapter on the relationship between design and research Architectural Research Methods is an essential reference for architecture students and researchers as well as architects, interior designers, landscape architects, and building product manufacturers.
Research Methods for Architecture by
Call Number: CL Books NA2000 Luc 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
Despite it's plain cover, I recommend this book for Y3 students who are preparing to embark on writing about architecture in an academic publication. --Winnifred.
While fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be.
The first part of the book is a general guide to the fundamentals of how to do research, from assembling a literature review to conducting an interview. The second section presents a selection of case studies dealing with such topics as environmental psychology, the politics of space, ethnographic research, and mapping. The range of methods explored illustrates the variety of possible approaches, with authoritative guidance on how best to deploy a research framework.
Landscape architecture research by
Call Number: SB469.4 Dem 2011
While this book is written primarily for graduate students in landscape architecture, some of the methodologies and strategies described are useful for architecture students in general.
Methods used in Social Sciences