Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special collections in USA
Aga Khan Visual Archive
Part of MIT Libraries' institutional repository called DOME, this is an invaluable archive of slides and digital images of buildings, ornaments & built environment in the Arab world
East Asia Image Collection at Lafayette College, US
Digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia can be found here. The metadata for each image is of good quality.
The Aga Khan Visual Archive
Fantastic archive of Islamic architecture around the world, including those now in conflict areas in Syria and Iraq
This is not specific to architecture, but a resource listing primary sources in the United States which includes personal papers, documents relating to buildings and historic districts. Read the FAQ for hints on how to search. the index is tied to OCLC, so the coverage for USA is quite comprehensive.
Other relevant collections
National Library of Singapore
The National Library of Singapore has several projects and initiatives to collect, organise and preserve materials to help build thecollective memory of Singapore, for all generations no matter their origins. Here's a few sources containing visual sources
Newspapers sources at NUS Libraries
Located in the Central Library Closed stacks. A useful source for topical and current information, not available in journal articles or books. Articles on Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN from The Straits Times and Business Times are arranged by broad subjects areas, e.g. aged, women, names of prominent persons, institutions and so on.
Singapore's longest running daily newspaper (in Chinese) during pre-war Singapore. It was digitised by NUS Libraries in 2006, thanks to a private donation. More info at the site.