Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives focused on Asian Art
The Dissertation Reviews' listing of archives is a wonderful resource for research students, written by students based on their real experience in using archives. The section 'Fresh from the Archives' is especially helpful if you are preparing your trip.
Asian Art Archives (focused on East, South and Southeast Asia)
Heilbrum Timeline of Art History
This is one of the most useful resources I use regularly to verify art history dates/period/era, and the World Maps is also a possible citation source but the maps cannot be downloaded. Note that the database is very much oriented to (MoMA) Metropolitan Museum of Art's collections as the Timeline is compiled by their curatorial, conservation and education staff.
Singapore & Malaysia
National Library's archive of music made in Singapore and musicians who have contributed to the musical landscape.
National Archives of Singapore
NAS has a selection of archival photos, posters/postcards, cartographic records and building plans of Singapore [and Malaya], and a digital resource on World War II in Malaya for schools. Usage and reproduction fee applies, so please read the terms and conditions of use. Note that you may need to download the DjVu browser plugin to view digital documents that are encrypted.
Singapore Public Art
Good resource for a listing of public sculptures, artworks and memorial-buildings in Singapore. Interesting nuggets of information!
The Independent Archive
This is a private initiative to collecting art, art objects and curated material culture. The website is a little dated as social media channels are used for events.
Malaysia Design Archive
Similar to the Singapore Visual Archive but focused on all things Malaysia. But since we were once upon a time part of Malaysia, you might find some hidden gems.
Australian War Memorial
Under War history, choose the war you want to research on and search their archives. For Malayan campaign, Malaya Peninsular and Vietnam wars, there are many photographs.
A project of the National Library of Australia. Contains images of the cultural institutions of Australia and photographs, objects, maps and works of art of and about Australia. Reproduction and usage fees apply.