LibGuides: Industrial Design: Databases

About Databases

Databases are a good for indepth research. They may contain articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, newspapers, chapters in books, reports and reviews.

Statistics databases

These are free and paid databases, maintained by either commercial outfits or by international agencies like the UN, WTO, World Bank etc,

CEIC Data Manager
Highly recommended for wide source of country data though data series is not harmonized. 10 concurrent accesses at a time.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database
Various China statistical yearbook online including CHINA STATISTICAL YEARBOOK, CHINA CITY STATISTICAL YEARBOOK, CHINA POPULATION & EMPLOYMENT STATISTICS YEARBOOK etc
EIU CityData
EIU CountryData
EIU CountryData provides data for 317 series on 150 countries running from 1980 onwards through a powerful, yet intuitive interface. For the 82 most important markets, key variables are additionally projected to 2030 in order to facilitate business planning.
EIU MarketIndicators
Passport (by Euromonitor)
Formerly known as GMID, this database is good for statistics on countries markets, consumer lifestyles and companies. Some are exportable to spreadsheet format.
OECD iLibrary
Good source for FDI. Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals. Mostly OECD country, though there are statistics for bigger countries like China, Indonesia.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
Offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 600 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data is best for social type data but also good for economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Global Competitiveness Report
IEA Statistics - access via SourceOECD
IEA statistics. Good source of energy related items. Including Coal, Natural gas, electricity etc Includes prices, supply, demand, import, exports going back as far as 1960
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
Produced by IMF. Good source for data on foreign direct investments, supply of money etc. Contains time series data and provides international statistics on international and domestic finance from as early as 1945 (for selected time series).
United Nations Statistics Division
Coverage includes global statistical information, statistical methods, classifications and definitions. Many of the Division's databases are also available on this site.
Statistics Database (World Trade Organisation)
Provides access to statistical information on trade profiles, tariff profiles and Time Series on merchandise and commercial services trade by WTO.
UNdata
more... less...

As of 1 May 2007, use of the Common Database is free of charge. Produced by the United Nations Statistical Office, it provides access to hundreds of statistical series for all countries and areas of the world. Data coverage: balance of payments, financial statistics, income, consumption and wealth, and national accounts
World Competitiveness Yearbook
World Economic Outlook Reports
more... less...

Surveys by the IMF usually published twice a year. Presents IMF economists' analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term.
Global Development Finance
Africa Development Indicators
Education Statistics (World Bank Open Data)
Gender Statistics (World Bank Open Data)
World Bank's Open Data Catalog (several sources)
World Religion database
"The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050."

Web of Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
One of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It indexes scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents. It offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.

ACM Digital Library

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library is a comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic citations covering the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books.

IEEE Explore

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.

Market research databases

Passport (formerly known as GMID) Good starting database for market research (consumer segments, geographical regions), industries and companies that deal with consumer goods. Its former name, Global Marketplace Information Database, gives you a better idea of what constitutes in this resource.

OneSource is another resource containing information about companies, key executives and industries across Asia-Pacific. Also available are competitve and comparative information among multinational companies.

JSTOR (Specialised collections)

JSTOR Health & General Sciences This link opens in a new window
One of the subset of our JSTOR subscription that focus on health-related issues, including public health matters. JSTOR does not have materials in the last 3-5 years as it is primarily concerned with literature that is impactful in the relevant subject field(s).
JSTOR Life Sciences This link opens in a new window