Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Strategy & Policy: Databases

Databases

Business Source Premier

 

WHY use it:

Lecturers will ask you to support your assignments, group projects or research papers with academic literature or scholarly journal articles. Say what?

Start your search with this huge database!

It searches academic journals such as Strategic Management Journal, International Journal of Business Studies, Harvard Business Review and so on. And trade magazines such as Business Week, Fortune, Forbes and so on.

You will be using this database as a search platform as it indexes many journals. Therefore, to get full-text, click on the FindIt!@NUS Libraries link to check for the article in NUS Libraries' collection.

 

HOW to use it:

How to search in Business Source Premier

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

ABI/Inform

 

WHY use it:

This database is  huge too! But use it to search for application-based topics or management practices.

It nicely completments Business Source Premier with more magazine articles such as MIT Sloan Management Review, news wires and some North American universities' dissertations.

 

 

HOW to use it:

How to search in ABI/Inform.

 

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

Web of Science

 

WHY use it:

Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citaiton Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. So what, you may say...

Web of Science is purely academic in nature and includes journals going as far as 1900s. It also indexes a wide range of strategic management journals such as Strategic Management Journal, Journal of Business Ethics, MIS Quarterly and so on.

This database also gives the times cited or citation counts of each article. This means you can sort the results by times cited to retrieve the highly impactful articles first. Yay!

 

HOW to use it:

How to search in Web of Science.

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

Scopus

 

WHY use it:

Scopus is similar to Web of Science in some of the journals it covers. It also gives times cited or citation counts of each article. This means you can sort the results by times cited to retrieve the highly impactful articles first.

Scopus leans towards technology management, innovation management and knowledge management.

 

HOW to use it:

How to search in Scopus.

 

Factiva

 

WHY use it:

Start with this if you want news items on Singapore. For example, you want to find out articles on social enterprises in Singapore or government policies and so on.

Factiva is not an academic database. It is a newspaper database that is updated daily. It has full-text of Straits Times, Business Times, Channel NewsAsia, TODAY, The Edge as well as Asian Wall Street Journal, International Herald Tribune, Financial Times and so on.

As Factiva is a current news database, use it to complement what you have retrieved from the academic databases.

 

HOW to use it:

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

Lexisnexis Academic

 

WHY use it:

Lexisnexis is similar to the newspaper database Factiva. It also covers many newspapers such as Straits Times, Business Times and so on.

 

HOW to use it:

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

 

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Su Yian Kho
Contact:

Hon Sui Sen Memorial Library Reference Office

Tel: 6516 1280

Website
Contact: Twitter Page