Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Management & Organization: Databases

Academic literature search starts here

Databases

Business Source Premier

 

WHY use it:

Lecturers will ask you to support your assignments, group projects or research papers with academic literature or scholarly journal articles. Say what?

Start your search with this huge database!

It searches academic journals such as Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Human Relations, People Management, etc.

It has lots on human resource management, organizational theories, organizational behavior, etc.

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

ABI/Inform

 

WHY use it:

This database is very similar to Business Source Premier because it has academic journal articles too. However, the results of your searches may have more magazine articles such as MIT Sloan Management Review, news wires and some North American universities' dissertations.

If you are searching for management practices or application-based topics, try ABI/Inform first. You are likely to find more articles.

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

PsycInfo

 

WHY use it:

Lots of academic journal articles and case studies on the behavioral or psychological aspects of management and organization. If you are interested in attitudes or habits of employees or leaders in the workplace or different environments, try searching PsycInfo.

Covers journals from American Psychological Association (PsycARTICLES) which includes Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Personnel Psychology, Journal of Occupational and Health Pscyhology and so on.

 

HOW to use it:

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

 

Factiva

 

WHY use it:

Start with this if you want news items on Singapore. For example, you want to find out articles on social enterprises in Singapore or what the government is doing for the elderly and so on.

Factiva is not an academic database. It is a newspaper database that is updated daily. It has full-text of Straits Times, Business Times, Channel NewsAsia, TODAY, The Edge as well as Asian Wall Street Journal, International Herald Tribune, Financial Times and so on.

As Factiva is a current news database, use it to complement what you have retrieved from the academic databases.

 

HOW to use it:

Quick Reference Guide to Factiva's Search Builder

 

Need more help? Email the Resource Librarian.

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Su Yian Kho
Contact:
Hon Sui Sen Memorial Library Reference Office
Tel: 6516 1280
Website
Social: Twitter Page