Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

NM4219: New Media in Health Communication: Databases

Databases

If you are looking for academic materials, our library subscribed databases would be a great starting point. What exactly is a database? A database is basically an index or catalogue to an enormous collection of journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, book reviews and so on.

There are several types of databases that are relevant to you:

  • General databases - These cover all disciplines. Examples: Web of Science, Scopus
  • Specialised databases - These cover a specific field or discipline. Examples: Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) for Communications, PsycInfo for Psychology, CINAHL Plus with full text for Nursing.
  • Newspaper databases - These contain newspaper and magazine articles. Examples: Factiva, LexisNexis Academic

As CNM is a highly multi-disciplinary subject, Scopus and Web of Science are two great standard general databases you would want to search in first. Subsequently, if you require more in-depth resources specific to a discipline, you would search within specialised databases like CMMC or CINAHL. If you are looking for newspaper articles, our subscribed newspaper databases like Factiva or LexisNexis Academic are great for finding articles from international news sources.

Getting to General databases

Scopus and Web of Science are two major general databases you would want to search in for journal articles or conference proceedings. These two databases are multi-disciplinary and are useful for CNM research. As these databases contain millions and millions of articles, it is a good idea to use Boolean Search techniques to help locate the exact resources you are looking for.

Getting to Subject databases

General databases cover publications in a wide range of disciplines but you may also want to search a little deeper and use databases that are specialised to a particular discipline. These specialised databases cover journals in a particular field of research much more deeply than the general databases.  

Recommended list of specialised databases for this module on writing for health communication and new media:

Getting to Newspaper databases

Other databases for CNM