Users on MacOS
EndNote X9 is a software that:
Mendeley is a citation management tool that, like many others, lets you collect & organize citations, & then easily insert them into documents & format bibliographies. But it also lets you drag & drop PDFs into your library & extracts the metadata to create a library!
You can highlight and annotate your PDFs and share them with others. Colleagues can then also annotate the same document, with each author displaying as a different color.
Use more than one computer? It's not a problem! Download Mendeley Desktop to as many computers as you want, then sync them with a click of your mouse. Need to use your library away from your computer? Mendeley Web gives you access to your citations no matter where you are.
Mendeley is social: create a profile, follow other researchers, create a network of people doing similar research. Discover the articles and journals that are being read in your field right now.
Create collections of papers. Make them public & share them with an RSS feed (great for class reading lists!).
Zotero Training Workshop Details:
|23 Mar 2022||10- 11:30am||Event is over||n.a.|
|31 Aug 2022||10-11:30am||Webinar via Zoom||Not available yet|
|28 Sep 2022||10-11:30am||Webinar via Zoom||Not available yet|
Before you arrive at our class, it's important to:
Zotero is a free bibliographic citation management software that allows you to save, collect, manage, cite, and share research sources. Zotero is available either as a Firefox extension or as standalone software that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari browsers. It works right in your browser, making it easy to save you citations while you search.
Use the Zotero word processor plugins to easily cite your sources and create a bibliography while you work.
Note: While Zotero is a free software, the Zotero cloud storage has a limit of 300 megabytes. Anything more than 300 megabytes, you would have to pay for extra storage. However it is possible to expand your storage space for free by following the instructions here.
Some points to consider before you start using Zotero:
Great for importing records for non-traditional references, like wikis and websites.
Helps to organize web screenshots and PDFs. You can make PDFs searchable by choosing to index them in the preferences menu.
Easily imports records from many of the resources you already use.
The program lives where you already do most of your research, in the browser.
Imports records from several major databases that won't work with EndNote & Mendeley, including Factiva, USPTO, Espacenet, & FreePatentsOnline.
Easily retrieves PDF metadata, like title and author information.
Great for creating bibliographies in OpenOffice.org.
Synchronizes collections among multiple computers & backs up data.
Offers option to create user profiles and groups, so you can share your collection.
Detects proxy servers automatically, making off-campus access to library databases easier.
Need to pay for extra storage space.