Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Encyclopedias
The Libraries have numerous subject specific encyclopedias (in print) at the NUS Central Library. Literature, religion, science, history and more are all covered by the Libraries' significant reference collections.
To search the library catalog for encyclopedias specifically, add "encyclopedia" to your topic, e.g., religion and encyclopedia. You can also explore the Libraries' subject guides to learn about discipline-specific resources on many topics.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then click the Search button.
Oxford Quick Reference Online
Access to Oxford Quick Reference Online works in the subjects of Archaeology, Art & Architecture, Classical Studies, History, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Sciences, and Society and Culture.
Cambridge Histories Online
Full text online access to more than 300 volumes of the Cambridge Histories. Covers 15 disciplines including, literature, history, philosophy, religion, linguistics, music and more.
Brill Online Reference Works
Brill Online Reference offers encyclopedias and reference works from the humanities and social sciences. It includes reference works on African Studies, Asian Studies, Religious Studies, History, Law, Languages, and Middle East and Islamic Studies.
Social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty covering social sciences, education and more. Includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, and more.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
This encyclopedia was originally a multi-volume set with over 3,900 articles. The e-version offers a comprehensive introduction to social and behavioral science topics.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
One of the most comprehensive general scientific references available, suitable for both academic and professional environments. A definitive scientific resource with topics ranging across all scientific disciplines.
The Literary Encyclopedia
A scholarly literary reference work with biographies, descriptions of texts, and critical essays. There are 3 databases within the encyclopedia: People, Works, and Context.
Oxford Art Online
Access point for Grove Art Online, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Oxford Music Online
Access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
A free online encyclopedia that features premier titles like The Columbia Encyclopedia, Oxford’s World Encyclopedia, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography. Includes millions of free articles, pictures, facts, and biographies along with information about topics like the arts, science, sports, medicine, accounting, and management.
Wikipedia definitely has its pros and cons. Check out the box below for more information on using Wikipedia effectively.
Wikipedia is often a good starting point when trying to learn about new topics. It is an open source encyclopedia that can be edited and authored by anyone. Because the content on Wikipedia is not vetted through traditional publishing methods, the information and citations must be treated carefully. Remember, you should never cite Wikipedia articles as a source for your academic research papers.
Wikipedia is, however, great for learning quickly about a topic and gathering information to help with keyword generation. You can then take what you've learned from Wikipedia and search more authoritative resources when you need to cite information and ideas. The reference section of a Wikipedia article is also a good starting point for finding more authoritative information. To learn more, visit Cornell's guide for using Wikipedia effectively:
Using Wikipedia - Cornell University Digital Resource Center