Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Protocols and Methods
Need to learn about a new laboratory technique? The resources on this page are peer-reviewed protocols and methodologies across the life sciences and psychology. Most protocols will link to experimental journal articles that have used the technique successfully.
BioTechniques: The international journal of life sciences methods
Includes protocols on life sciences and physical sciences topics including bioinformatics, imaging, robotics/automation, model systems, molecular and cell biology, and analytic chemistry. Register for the username/password for this journal, here: http://libportal.nus.edu.sg/frontend/ejournals-declaration/c16800990
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Published by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and includes protocols on a variety of topics: cell biology, imaging/microscopy, laboratory organisms, neuroscience, PCR, stem cells, and emerging model organisms.
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics is the number one resource for mastering the vast array of computational tools needed to not only decipher the tremendous amounts of information provided by today’s research techniques, but also to present the results in a meaningful way.
Current Protocols in Cell Biology
Includes detailed methods for analysis of the relationship between specific molecules and genes and their locations, functions, and structure at the cellular level.
Current Protocols in Immunology
"Best-practices" collection that provides comprehensive coverage of immunological methods from classic to the most cutting-edge.
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Covers basic methods, such as nucleic acid isolation, purification, and quantition, as well as advanced procedures for microarray analysis, chromatin assembly and analysis, single-cell analysis and gene silencing, among others.
Current Protocols in Pharmacology
A collection of lab protocols that assist with the design and success of research projects. The manual covers the full range of molecular, cellular, physiological, and chemical techniques used for the discovery and development of novel therapeutics, presents state-of-the-art techniques for high-throughput screening methods, and offers topical guideline overviews for assessment of drug efficacy and side effect liability, supported with appropriate protocols used by the industry.
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal. The visual format aims to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.
Forum for the publication of novel methods and significant improvements to tried-and-tested basic research techniques in the life sciences.
Online journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers.
Plant Methods is an open access, peer-reviewed, online journal for the plant research community that encompasses all aspects of technological innovation in the plant sciences.
Reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana's successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks.