LibGuides: Chemistry (Yale-NUS College): Databases

What is a Database?

Library databases are searchable collections of literature (journal articles, newspapers, books, etc.), that allow you to identify resources for your research projects. Some databases are subject specific and some are very general (including all subjects).

Search several databases when beginning your project! There are unique references in each database you search.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Scopus Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Broad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.

All Chemistry Databases

ACS Publications
Provides access to the electronic full text versions of more than 30 journals published (or co-published) by the American Chemical Society.
CHEMnetBASE
Includes several chemical dictionaries, and the CRC handbook of chemistry & physics.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a database of chemical structures. It can be searched by name or structure.
Google Scholar
Search articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Methods in Organic Synthesis
Specialized database for organic synthesis articles, with indexing of reactions, reactants, reagents and products. Around 200 new reaction schemes are added to the database each month.
Natural Products Update
Provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from dozens of key primary journals. Around 200 graphical abstracts are published online each month, including structure diagrams, trivial and taxonomic names, molecular formulae, physical and biological properties.
PubChem
PubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. It provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Reaxys
An authoritative reference source on chemical properties and reactions which aims to be the synthesis resource for organic and inorganic chemistry. Reaxys is a combination of three chemistry databases: Beilstein (organic), Gmelin (inorganic), and Patent Chemistry.
Royal Society of Chemistry publications
One of the world's leading scientific publishers, offering an exceptional range of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, databases and publishing services to the chemical sciences community.
SciFinder (first-time user registration)
One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Always use the SciFinder link through the Library when wanting to access the database after registration.
SciFinder Scholar
The most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 29 million citations and indexes over 10,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry.
Scopus
Has 53 million records from over 21,900 mostly peer-reviewed journals. Covers scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Indexes journals, conference proceedings, book series, patents and web pages.
Web of Science
Broad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.