Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
What is a Database?
Library databases are searchable collections of literature (journal articles, newspapers, books, etc.), that allow you to identify resources for your research projects. Some databases are subject specific and some are very general (including all subjects).
Search several databases when beginning your project! There are unique references in each database you search.
Open e-print archive with physics articles
Provides access to all tables of contents and to abstracts for Institute of Physics journals. Also contains full text for those journals subscribed to by NUS Libraries.
Scitation (American Institute of Physics)
Offers online access to articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and its publishing partners.
Has mostly peer-reviewed journals and indexes journals, conference proceedings, book series, patents and web pages.
Web of Science
A broad scientific database that includes the Science Citation Index and review articles.
AIP Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
AIP Conference Proceedings contain over 100,000 articles published in 1,700+ proceedings and continues to grow every year. Its contents consists of reports findings presented at important scientific meetings around the world and span across physical sciences such as physics, chemistry, mathematics, materials science and engineering.
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics by
"The 23-volume Encyclopedia of Applied Physics - EAP - is a monumental first in scope, depth, and usability. It demonstrates the synergy between physics and technological applications. Information is presented according to the following subject areas: * General Aspects; Mathematical and Information Techniques * Measurement Sciences, General Devices and/or Methods * Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics * Atomic and Molecular Physics * Electricity and Magnetism * Optics (classical and quantum) * Acoustics * Thermodynamics and Properties of Gases * Fluids and Plasma Physics * Condensed Matter: Structure and Mechanical Properties; Thermal, Acoustic, and Quantum Properties ; Electronic Properties ; Magnetic Properties ; Dielectrical and Optical Properties; Surfaces and Interfaces * Materials Science * Physical Chemistry * Energy Research and Environmental Physics * Biophysics and Medical Physics * Geophysics, Meteorology, Space Physics and Aeronautics"
INIS: International Nuclear Information System.
"Provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for journal articles, research and development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards."
Physical Review Online Archive This link opens in a new window
PROLA provides immediate access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal. A subscription to PROLA gives access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying materials properties and covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It is highly relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and areas such as Electrical Engineering.
"The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library online or IEEEXplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, IEEE- Wiley e-books and all current IEEE standards."
INSPEC This link opens in a new window