Analytics and Data Science : Advances in Research and Pedagogy
Data Science
A concise introduction to the emerging field of data science, explaining its evolution, relation to machine learning, current uses, data infrastructure issues, and ethical challenges. The goal of data science is to improve decision making through the analysis of data. Today data science determines the ads we see online, the books and movies that are recommended to us online, which emails are filtered into our spam folders, and even how much we pay for health insurance. This volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series offers a concise introduction to the emerging field of data science, explaining its evolution, current uses, data infrastructure issues, and ethical challenges. It has never been easier for organizations to gather, store, and process data. Use of data science is driven by the rise of big data and social media, the development of high-performance computing, and the emergence of such powerful methods for data analysis and modeling as deep learning. Data science encompasses a set of principles, problem definitions, algorithms, and processes for extracting non-obvious and useful patterns from large datasets. It is closely related to the fields of data mining and machine learning, but broader in scope. This book offers a brief history of the field, introduces fundamental data concepts, and describes the stages in a data science project. It considers data infrastructure and the challenges posed by integrating data from multiple sources, introduces the basics of machine learning, and discusses how to link machine learning expertise with real-world problems. The book also reviews ethical and legal issues, developments in data regulation, and computational approaches to preserving privacy. Finally, it considers the future impact of data science and offers principles for success in data science projects.
Data Science : Create Teams That Ask the Right Questions and Deliver Real Value
Learn how to build a data science team within your organization rather than hiring from the outside. Teach your team to ask the right questions to gain actionable insights into your business. Most organizations still focus on objectives and deliverables. Instead, a data science team is exploratory. They use the scientific method to ask interesting questions and run small experiments. Your team needs to see if the data illuminate their questions. Then, they have to use critical thinking techniques to justify their insights and reasoning. They should pivot their efforts to keep their insights aligned with business value. Finally, your team needs to deliver these insights as a compelling story. Insight!: How to Build Data Science Teams that Deliver Real Business Value shows that the most important thing you can do now is help your team think about data. Management coach Doug Rose walks you through the process of creating and managing effective data science teams. You will learn how to find the right people inside your organization and equip them with the right mindset. The book has three overarching concepts: You should mine your own company for talent. You can't change your organization by hiring a few data science superheroes. You should form small, agile-like data teams that focus on delivering valuable insights early and often. You can make real changes to your organization by telling compelling data stories. These stories are the best way to communicate your insights about your customers, challenges, and industry. What Your Will Learn: Create data science teams from existing talent in your organization to cost-efficiently extract maximum business value from your organization's data Understand key data science terms and concepts Follow practical guidance to create and integrate an effective data science team with key roles and the responsibilities for each team member Utilize the data science life cycle (DSLC) to model essential processes and practices for delivering value Use sprints and storytelling to help your team stay on track and adapt to new knowledge Who This Book Is For Data science project managers and team leaders. The secondary readership is data scientists, DBAs, analysts, senior management, HR managers, and performance specialists.
Data Science : Innovative Developments in Data Analysis and Clustering
This edited volume on the latest advances in data science covers a wide range of topics in the context of data analysis and classification. In particular, it includes contributions on classification methods for high-dimensional data, clustering methods, multivariate statistical methods, and various applications. The book gathers a selection of peer-reviewed contributions presented at the Fifteenth Conference of the International Federation of Classification Societies (IFCS2015), which was hosted by the Alma Mater Studiorum, University of Bologna, from July 5 to 8, 2015.
Data Science and Big Data Analytics : ACM-WIR 2018
Data Science and Big Data Computing
This illuminating text/reference surveys the state of the art in data science, and provides practical guidance on big data analytics. Expert perspectives are provided by authoritative researchers and practitioners from around the world, discussing research developments and emerging trends, presenting case studies on helpful frameworks and innovative methodologies, and suggesting best practices for efficient and effective data analytics. Features: reviews a framework for fast data applications, a technique for complex event processing, and agglomerative approaches for the partitioning of networks; introduces a unified approach to data modeling and management, and a distributed computing perspective on interfacing physical and cyber worlds; presents techniques for machine learning for big data, and identifying duplicate records in data repositories; examines enabling technologies and tools for data mining; proposes frameworks for data extraction, and adaptive decision making and social media analysis.
Data Science and Predictive Analytics : Biomedical and Health Applications using R
Data Science for Healthcare : Methodologies and Applications
Data Science Landscape : Towards Research Standards and Protocols
Data Science with Julia
"This book is a great way to both start learning data science through the promising Julia language and to become an efficient data scientist."- Professor Charles Bouveyron, INRIA Chair in Data Science, Universit¿¿te d¿Azur, Nice, France Julia, an open-source programming language, was created to be as easy to use as languages such as R and Python while also as fast as C and Fortran. An accessible, intuitive, and highly efficient base language with speed that exceeds R and Python, makes Julia a formidable language for data science. Using well known data science methods that will motivate the reader, Data Science with Julia will get readers up to speed on key features of the Julia language and illustrate its facilities for data science and machine learning work. Features: Covers the core components of Julia as well as packages relevant to the input, manipulation and representation of data. Discusses several important topics in data science including supervised and unsupervised learning. Reviews data visualization using the Gadfly package, which was designed to emulate the very popular ggplot2 package in R. Readers will learn how to make many common plots and how to visualize model results. Presents how to optimize Julia code for performance. Will be an ideal source for people who already know R and want to learn how to use Julia (though no previous knowledge of R or any other programming language is required). The advantages of Julia for data science cannot be understated. Besides speed and ease of use, there are already over 1,900 packages available and Julia can interface (either directly or through packages) with libraries written in R, Python, Matlab, C, C++ or Fortran. The book is for senior undergraduates, beginning graduate students, or practicing data scientists who want to learn how to use Julia for data science. "This book is a great way to both start learning data science through the promising Julia language and to become an efficient data scientist." Professor Charles Bouveyron INRIA Chair in Data Science Universit¿¿te d¿Azur, Nice, France
An Introduction to Data : Everything You Need to Know About AI, Big Data and Data Science
Machine Learning Paradigms : Advances in Data Analytics
New Advances in Statistics and Data Science
Python for R Users : a data science approach
The definitive guide for statisticians and data scientists who understand the advantages of becoming proficient in both R and Python The first book of its kind, Python for R Users: A Data Science Approach makes it easy for R programmers to code in Python and Python users to program in R. Short on theory and long on actionable analytics, it provides readers with a detailed comparative introduction and overview of both languages and features concise tutorials with command-by-command translations--complete with sample code--of R to Python and Python to R. Following an introduction to both languages, the author cuts to the chase with step-by-step coverage of the full range of pertinent programming features and functions, including data input, data inspection/data quality, data analysis, and data visualization. Statistical modeling, machine learning, and data mining--including supervised and unsupervised data mining methods--are treated in detail, as are time series forecasting, text mining, and natural language processing. * Features a quick-learning format with concise tutorials and actionable analytics * Provides command-by-command translations of R to Python and vice versa * Incorporates Python and R code throughout to make it easier for readers to compare and contrast features in both languages * Offers numerous comparative examples and applications in both programming languages * Designed for use for practitioners and students that know one language and want to learn the other * Supplies slides useful for teaching and learning either software on a companion website Python for R Users: A Data Science Approach is a valuable working resource for computer scientists and data scientists that know R and would like to learn Python or are familiar with Python and want to learn R. It also functions as textbook for students of computer science and statistics. A. Ohri is the founder of Decisionstats.com and currently works as a senior data scientist. He has advised multiple startups in analytics off-shoring, analytics services, and analytics education, as well as using social media to enhance buzz for analytics products. Mr. Ohri's research interests include spreading open source analytics, analyzing social media manipulation with mechanism design, simpler interfaces for cloud computing, investigating climate change and knowledge flows. His other books include R for Business Analytics and R for Cloud Computing.
Soft Methods for Data Science
This proceedings volume is a collection of peer reviewed papers presented at the 8th International Conference on Soft Methods in Probability and Statistics (SMPS 2016) held in Rome (Italy). The book is dedicated to Data science which aims at developing automated methods to analyze massive amounts of data and to extract knowledge from them. It shows how Data science employs various programming techniques and methods of data wrangling, data visualization, machine learning, probability and statistics. The soft methods proposed in this volume represent a collection of tools in these fields that can also be useful for data science.
Statistical Data Science
As an emerging discipline, data science broadly means different things across different areas. Exploring the relationship of data science with statistics, a well-established and principled data-analytic discipline, this book provides insights about commonalities in approach, and differences in emphasis.Featuring chapters from established authors in both disciplines, the book also presents a number of applications and accompanying papers. remove
The Art of Data Science
This book describes, simply and in general terms, the process of analyzing data. The authors have extensive experience both managing data analysts and conducting their own data analyses, and have carefully observed what produces coherent results and what fails to produce useful insights into data. This book is a distillation of their experience in a format that is applicable to both practitioners and managers in data science.
Business Intelligence, Analytics, and Data Science
For courses on Business Intelligence or Decision Support Systems. A managerial approach to understanding business intelligence systems. To help future managers use and understand analytics, Business Intelligence provides students with a solid foundation of BI that is reinforced with hands-on practice.
Data Science and Big Data Analytics
Data Science and Big Data Analytics is about harnessing the power of data for new insights. The book covers the breadth of activities and methods and tools that Data Scientists use. The content focuses on concepts, principles and practical applications that are applicable to any industry and technology environment, and the learning is supported and explained with examples that you can replicate using open-source software. This book will help you: Become a contributor on a data science team Deploy a structured lifecycle approach to data analytics problems Apply appropriate analytic techniques and tools to analyzing big data Learn how to tell a compelling story with data to drive business action Prepare for EMC Proven Professional Data Science Certification Corresponding data sets are available at www.wiley.com/go/9781118876138. Get started discovering, analyzing, visualizing, and presenting data in a meaningful way today!
Data Science from Scratch by
Data science libraries, frameworks, modules, and toolkits are great for doing data science, but they're also a good way to dive into the discipline without actually understanding data science. In this book, you'll learn how many of the most fundamental data science tools and algorithms work by implementing them from scratch. If you have an aptitude for mathematics and some programming skills, author Joel Grus will help you get comfortable with the math and statistics at the core of data science, and with hacking skills you need to get started as a data scientist. Today's messy glut of data holds answers to questions no one's even thought to ask. This book provides you with the know-how to dig those answers out. Get a crash course in Python Learn the basics of linear algebra, statistics, and probability--and understand how and when they're used in data science Collect, explore, clean, munge, and manipulate data Dive into the fundamentals of machine learning Implement models such as k-nearest Neighbors, Naive Bayes, linear and logistic regression, decision trees, neural networks, and clustering Explore recommender systems, natural language processing, network analysis, MapReduce, and databases
Data Smart : using data science to transform information into insight
Data Science gets thrown around in the press like it's magic. Major retailers are predicting everything from when their customers are pregnant to when they want a new pair of Chuck Taylors. It's a brave new world where seemingly meaningless data can be transformed into valuable insight to drive smart business decisions. But how does one exactly do data science? Do you have to hire one of these priests of the dark arts, the "data scientist," to extract this gold from your data? Nope. Data science is little more than using straight-forward steps to process raw data into actionable insight. And in Data Smart, author and data scientist John Foreman will show you how that's done within the familiar environment of a spreadsheet. Why a spreadsheet? It's comfortable! You get to look at the data every step of the way, building confidence as you learn the tricks of the trade. Plus, spreadsheets are a vendor-neutral place to learn data science without the hype. But don't let the Excel sheets fool you. This is a book for those serious about learning the analytic techniques, the math and the magic, behind big data. Each chapter will cover a different technique in a spreadsheet so you can follow along: Mathematical optimization, including non-linear programming and genetic algorithms Clustering via k-means, spherical k-means, and graph modularity Data mining in graphs, such as outlier detection Supervised AI through logistic regression, ensemble models, and bag-of-words models Forecasting, seasonal adjustments, and prediction intervals through monte carlo simulation Moving from spreadsheets into the R programming language You get your hands dirty as you work alongside John through each technique. But never fear, the topics are readily applicable and the author laces humor throughout. You'll even learn what a dead squirrel has to do with optimization modeling, which you no doubt are dying to know.
Getting Started with Data Science
Master Data Analytics Hands-On by Solving Fascinating Problems You'll Actually Enjoy! Harvard Business Review recently called data science "The Sexiest Job of the 21st Century." It's not just sexy: For millions of managers, analysts, and students who need to solve real business problems, it's indispensable. Unfortunately, there's been nothing easy about learning data science-until now. Getting Started with Data Science takes its inspiration from worldwide best-sellers like Freakonomics and Malcolm Gladwell's Outliers: It teaches through a powerful narrative packed with unforgettable stories. Murtaza Haider offers informative, jargon-free coverage of basic theory and technique, backed with plenty of vivid examples and hands-on practice opportunities. Everything's software and platform agnostic, so you can learn data science whether you work with R, Stata, SPSS, or SAS. Best of all, Haider teaches a crucial skillset most data science books ignore: how to tell powerful stories using graphics and tables. Every chapter is built around real research challenges, so you'll always know why you're doing what you're doing. You'll master data science by answering fascinating questions, such as: * Are religious individuals more or less likely to have extramarital affairs? * Do attractive professors get better teaching evaluations? * Does the higher price of cigarettes deter smoking? * What determines housing prices more: lot size or the number of bedrooms? * How do teenagers and older people differ in the way they use social media? * Who is more likely to use online dating services? * Why do some purchase iPhones and others Blackberry devices? * Does the presence of children influence a family's spending on alcohol? For each problem, you'll walk through defining your question and the answers you'll need; exploring how others have approached similar challenges; selecting your data and methods; generating your statistics; organizing your report; and telling your story. Throughout, the focus is squarely on what matters most: transforming data into insights that are clear, accurate, and can be acted upon.
Mastering Spark for Data Science
Master the techniques and sophisticated analytics used to construct Spark-based solutions that scale to deliver production-grade data science productsAbout This Book* Develop and apply advanced analytical techniques with Spark* Learn how to tell a compelling story with data science using Spark's ecosystem* Explore data at scale and work with cutting edge data science methodsWho This Book Is ForThis book is for those who have beginner-level familiarity with the Spark architecture and data science applications, especially those who are looking for a challenge and want to learn cutting edge techniques. This book assumes working knowledge of data science, common machine learning methods, and popular data science tools, and assumes you have previously run proof of concept studies and built prototypes.What You Will Learn* Learn the design patterns that integrate Spark into industrialized data science pipelines* See how commercial data scientists design scalable code and reusable code for data science services* Explore cutting edge data science methods so that you can study trends and causality* Discover advanced programming techniques using RDD and the DataFrame and Dataset APIs* Find out how Spark can be used as a universal ingestion engine tool and as a web scraper* Practice the implementation of advanced topics in graph processing, such as community detection and contact chaining* Get to know the best practices when performing Extended Exploratory Data Analysis, commonly used in commercial data science teams* Study advanced Spark concepts, solution design patterns, and integration architectures* Demonstrate powerful data science pipelinesIn DetailData science seeks to transform the world using data, and this is typically achieved through disrupting and changing real processes in real industries. In order to operate at this level you need to build data science solutions of substance -solutions that solve real problems. Spark has emerged as the big data platform of choice for data scientists due to its speed, scalability, and easy-to-use APIs.This book deep dives into using Spark to deliver production-grade data science solutions. This process is demonstrated by exploring the construction of a sophisticated global news analysis service that uses Spark to generate continuous geopolitical and current affairs insights.You will learn all about the core Spark APIs and take a comprehensive tour of advanced libraries, including Spark SQL, Spark Streaming, MLlib, and more.You will be introduced to advanced techniques and methods that will help you to construct commercial-grade data products. Focusing on a sequence of tutorials that deliver a working news intelligence service, you will learn about advanced Spark architectures, how to work with geographic data in Spark, and how to tune Spark algorithms so they scale linearly.Style and approachThis is an advanced guide for those with beginner-level familiarity with the Spark architecture and working with Data Science applications. Mastering Spark for Data Science is a practical tutorial that uses core Spark APIs and takes a deep dive into advanced libraries including: Spark SQL, visual streaming, and MLlib. This book expands on titles like: Machine Learning with Spark and Learning Spark. It is the next learning curve for those comfortable with Spark and looking to improve their skills.
Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning
This is the first textbook on pattern recognition to present the Bayesian viewpoint. The book presents approximate inference algorithms that permit fast approximate answers in situations where exact answers are not feasible. It uses graphical models to describe probability distributions when no other books apply graphical models to machine learning. No previous knowledge of pattern recognition or machine learning concepts is assumed. Familiarity with multivariate calculus and basic linear algebra is required, and some experience in the use of probabilities would be helpful though not essential as the book includes a self-contained introduction to basic probability theory.
The Data Science Handbook : advice and insights from 25 amazing data scientists
The Data Science Handbook
Python Data Science Handbook
Statistics from A to Z
A Dictionary of Statistics
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
A Dictionary of Computer Science
Computer Technology Encyclopedia : Quick Reference for Students & Professionals
The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics
Encyclopedia of Applied and Computational Mathematics
Encyclopedia of Cloud Computing
Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering
