Maximum research impact: With research data

Research Data Management (RDM) is "how you look after your data throughout your project. It covers the planning, collecting, organising, managing, storage, security, backing up, preserving, and sharing your data and ensures that research data are managed according to legal, statutory, ethical and funding body requirements" (Whyte, A. & Tedds, J., 2011).

RDM occurs in every stage of the research lifecycle, not just at the end where all the data files are simply zipped up in a folder for storage.

Source: The University of California, Santa Cruz, Data Management LibGuide

NUS Libraries provides DOI minting service through DataCite for NUS Staff. 

If your dataset is hosted in ScholarBank@NUS, a DOI will be assigned to it automatically. 

To get a DOI for your scholarly output, please contact scholarbank@nus.edu.sg. Please indicate the resource type (e.g., dataset, website, technical report, etc.) and provide a short description of your items in the email. 

In order for NUS Libraries to mint a DOI, the item must fulfil these essential criteria:

• The item (digital object) must be a scholarly output of NUS staff, for e.g., research data and collections, technical reports, websites, software, visualization, etc.
• The item must be open or licensed on the web with a valid URL. Please make sure you have the rights to make it publicly available.
• Please provide the minimum required metadata information for the item. The metadata information submitted will be open to the public and used freely for discovery. This is the information needed to create a DOI:
  • Resource Type
  • Title/Name
  • URL
  • Creators
  • Date of Publication/Date Available
  • Subjects
  • Publisher
• Please provide perpetual online access to the item.
• You are strongly recommended to provide a landing page with full information about the item as well as the download links.

• NUS Institutional Repositories
  NUS Institutional Repositories

  ScholarBank@NUS is the Institutional Repository (IR) of the university. The goals of ScholarBank@NUS are to collect, preserve and showcase the research output of NUS researchers and through this, increase the research visibility of NUS researchers and demonstrate the research excellence of NUS to the world. Starting from November 2017, ScholarBank@NUS accepts research data produced by NUS researchers. Persistent identifiers (Handle & DOI) will be generated for archived datasets as well.

  Please refer to this guide for more details on how to deposit a dataset into ScholarBank@NUS.

• Multidisciplinary Repositories
  Multidisciplinary Repositories

  • Dryad Digital Repository: A broad life-sciences and medicine repository to house data underlying publications.
  • Figshare: FigShare provides limited free storage space to hold research data from various disciplines.
  • Harvard Dataverse: An open source web application for all disciplines by the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS), Harvard University Library and Harvard University Information Technology.
  • Mendeley Data: An open research data repository by Elsevier, where researchers can store and share their research data.
  • Zenodo: A repository for research outputs from all fields of science.
• Biology and Life Sciences
  Biology and Life Sciences

  • The Cell Image Library: A public repository of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes.
  • Plant Expression Database (PLEXdb): A unified gene expression resource for plants and plant pathogens.
  • Universal Protein Resource (UniProt): A comprehensive resource for protein sequence and functional information.
  • Worldwide Protein Data Bank (wwPDB): A repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
• Chemistry
  Chemistry

  • Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank: A repository for data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, nucleic acids, and other biomolecules.
  • Cambridge Structural Database (CSD): A repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures, with over 900,000 entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses.
  • ChemSpider: A free chemical structure database providing access to over 63 million structures, properties, and associated information. Hosted by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
  • ChemSynthesis: A freely accessible database of chemicals with synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density.
  • Crystallography Open Database: A repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
  • PubChem: An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), with information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
• Computer Science and Source Code
  Computer Science and Source Code

  • CodePlex Archive: A free, open source project hosting site by Microsoft, which ran from 2006 through 2017.
  • Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis (CAIDA): Archive of data for scientific analysis of network functions.
  • GitHub: A development platform to host and review code, manage projects, and build software alongside millions of other developers.
  • Launchpad: A software collaboration platform that provides Web services such as project registry, code branch registry and mirroring service, bug tracker, specification tracker, translation service, and question tracker.
  • SourceForge: A resource for open source software development and distribution.
• Earth and Environmental Sciences
  Earth and Environmental Sciences

  • Climate Change Knowlegde Portal: A central hub of information, data and reports about climate change around the world. Hosted by the World Bank Group.
  • National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI):Resource that provides public access to the United States' atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data. A consolidation of NOAA’s existing three National Data Centers: The National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.
  • National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON): NEON provides open data that characterize and quantify how United States' ecosystems are changing. The data are collected from 81 field sites located in different ecosystems.
  • National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC): Scientific data sets on the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth’s cryosphere.
• Geosciences and Geospatial Data
  Geosciences and Geospatial Data

  • Geospatial at Data.gov: A central hub of information, data and reports about climate change around the world. Hosted by the World Bank Group.
  • Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS): MGDS provides access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins.
  • NASA's Earthdata: NASA’s vast collection of data from Earth observing satellite, airborne, and ground-based missions as well as socioeconomic data. All data produced by NASA, including the code and algorithms used to produce these data, are available fully and openly to data users.
  • National Geospatial Digital Archive (NGDA): An archive on United States' geospatial imagery and data.
• Humanities
  Humanities

  • Archaeology Data Service (ADS): A United Kingdom-based repository for primary archaeological data.
  • ACultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA): CPANDA strives to acquire, archive, document, and preserve data sets on topics in art and cultural policy, including arts funding, arts education, the arts and economic development, public participation in the arts, and attitudes towards the arts. Data is provided in a user-friendly format for scholars, journalists, policy makers, artists, and cultural organizations.
  • National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC): This database contains data on the arts and on the arts' value and impact for individuals and communities.
  • TextGrid: The long-term research data archive offers safe storing, publishing and researching versatile digital material (XML/TEI formatted text, images and databases).
  • the Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR): An international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.
  • Open Context: A resource for archaeological data (and potentially other field science).
• Medicine and Health Sciences
  Medicine and Health Sciences

  • ClinicalTrials.gov: ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
  • GenBank: GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCB.
  • National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP): The National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research.
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI): The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
  • National Database for Autism Research (NDAR): The National Database for Autism Research (NDAR) is an NIH-funded data repository that aims to accelerate progress in autism spectrum disorder (ASD) research through data sharing, data harmonization, and the reporting of research results.
  • National Database for Clinical Trials related to Mental Illness (NDCT): The National Database for Clinical Trials Related to Mental Illness (NDCT) is an informatics platform for the sharing of human subjects data from all clinical trials funded by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH).
  • Neuroimaging Informatics Tools and Resources Clearinghouse (NITRC): Provides access to resources such as neuroimaging analysis software, publicly available data sets, or computing power.
  • PhysioNet: PhysioNet offers free web access to large collections of recorded physiologic signals (PhysioBank) and related open-source software (PhysioToolkit).
  • SICAS Medical Image Repository (formerly Virtual Skeleton Database): The SICAS Medical Image Repository is a freely accessible repository containing medical research data including medical images, surface models, clinical data, genomics data and statistical shape models. The data can freely be organized and shared on SMIR and made publicly accessible with a DOI. Dedicated data sets are organized as collections of anatomical regions (e.g Cochlea). The data can be filtered using a modular search and accessed on the web or through the SMIR API.
  • The Cancer Imaging Archive (TCIA): TCIA is a service which de-identifies and hosts a large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download.
• Physics, Astrophysics & Astronomy
  Physics, Astrophysics & Astronomy

  • HEPData: An open-access repository for scattering data from experimental particle physics.
  • National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC):Databases on nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and for applied nuclear technologies.
  • NIST Atomic Spectra Database: This database provides access for National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities.
  • NoMaD Repository: The NOMAD Repository was established to host, organize, and share materials data.
  • UK Solar System Data Centre (UKSSDC): The UK Solar System Data Centre (UKSSDC) provides a STFC and NERC jointly funded central archive and data centre facility for Solar System science in the UK. The facilities include the World Data Centre for Solar-Terrestrial Physics, Chilton and the Cluster Ground-Based Data Centre.
• Social Sciences
  Social Sciences

  • Australian Data Archive: The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users in Australia. Data are stored in seven sub-archives: Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International.
  • Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): A data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences, including 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism and other fields.
  • Qualitative Data Repository (QDR): An archive for storing and sharing digital data generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR is hosted by the Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry, a unit of Syracuse University’s Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.
  • UK Data Archive: The United Kingdom's largest collection of social, economic and population data.