This guide is for students who use NUS Libraries ( Medical Library) and require health related information
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides single click access to library content from publisher websites, PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, Wikipedia and more.
Installation in Chrome, Edge, Brave & Vivaldi is simple! Just visit libkeynomad.com and click the "Add to Chrome" button. For Firefox, click libkeynomad.com. Your browser will then ask you to confirm. Select NUS as the institution and you are all set.
Alternatively, visit Chrome Web Store or Firefox Add-ons and search for "LibKey Nomad" to install it.
No! There are no user accounts to create, the extension does not ask for or store your institutional user credentials. Nomad is active only when the user is on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database, all other domains are ignored.
You can refer to LibKey Nomad Technical FAQ
Here is a detailed description of what each of these labels means:
Download PDF - In a single click, the user should either see a PDF on their screen or be prompted to download a PDF immediately. If authentication is required for the user, they will be prompted to sign in, turn on their VPN, etc as required. The PDF document is either coming directly from the publisher or is the publisher's version (according to unpaywall data) but held in a repository such as PubMed Central, EuroPMC or a university repository.
Article Link - The same as the above with the exception that the user will NOT see a PDF, they will see a web page which either has the full text in HTML or also has the PDF, but one more link is required to access it.
Manuscript PDF - The article has been found in the form of an Accepted Manuscript in a repository. While the content has been peer-reviewed it is unlikely to be formatted for publishing so may appear as an unformatted Word Document, etc. These documents never require authentication.
Manuscript Link - Same as the above, except one more click is required to get to the PDF, if the PDF is even available. No authentication is required.
Access Options - The library's link resolver will be linked here.
Let us know by dropping us an email!
Google Scholar results will link you directly to the required online journal article or book chapter but you would likely not have access to the full-text, particularly if the source title is subscribed by the Library. This is because you are not authenticated via NUS Library proxy. To access the full-text, set up your Google Scholar settings to link it to the NUS Libraries' collection. The steps are as follows:
Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles. The Find It! button won't work for document types that are only available in print (not online).
The proxy bookmarklet automatically inserts the NUS Library proxy stem (libproxy1.nus.edu.sg) into the URL of an article/e-book. Once you have successfully installed the bookmarklet in your browser, simply click on it when you are on the vendor/publisher page that requires you to pay or login to view full text. The system checks if the required title is within the Library's subscription. If yes, the page reloads and subsequently provides you with the full text options.
What if you get an error message or still cannot access full text using the proxy bookmarklet?
The proxy bookmarklet may not work in the following conditions:
If for some reasons, the proxy bookmarklet does not yield any results, search for the source title in the library catalogue. It is possible that the required title is available via another vendor site or in print copy (not online).
If you are having problems doing drag and drop in Safari or Chrome safari, do the following:
Other alternative browsers (e.g Opera):