Skip to main content
Banner Image

NUS Libraries Digital Scholarship (DS) Projects

NUS Libraries' Digital Scholarship Team collaborates together with researchers in the NUS community on digital scholarship and digital humanities projects. This directory features and showcases some of the projects that we have worked on so far, with a collection of internal projects, collaborations with other parties, and projects that utilize our Digital Scholarship Portal.

Click on the featured projects on the left navigation bar to learn more, or scroll down the page to explore the full list of digital scholarship projects.

Click here to visit our Digital Scholarship Portal.

Singapore Infectious Diseases Research Landscape Mapping (SIDRLM)

Jocelyn JIN, Queenie TAN, Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries & Paul TAMBYAH (2020)

The Singapore Infectious Diseases Research Landscape Mapping (SIDRLM) project is a map of the local infectious disease research landscape focusing on grant and publication analyses covering the period from Jan 2015 to May 2019 in five previously identified priority areas chosen by the Infectious Diseases Task Force in Singapore. The five areas are Respiratory Tract Infections (RTIs), Antimicrobial Resistance/Healthcare-Associated Infections (AMR&HAIs), Vector Borne Diseases (VBDs), Sexually Transmitted Infections (STIs) and Tuberculosis (TB). The online platform will be useful to clinicians, scientists, researchers and anyone who is interested in local infectious diseases research.

Museum Diplomacy and The Art of Narrative in the Age of the Belt and Road

Dr. Marina Kaneti, research team & Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries (2020)

This online platform aims to creatively apply gathered social science data and findings while democratizing knowledge surrounding the heritage, myths, and memories of Silk Road (re)imaginings. Field work gathered from site visits across the region and the globe takes the form of dynamic maps, a media gallery, and themed stories. The platform and maps hopes to help visitors visualize both ancient and modern connectivity, and that the stories can provide analysis on the various exhibition narratives, symbolic displays, and interpretations of shared/disparate heritage.

Key Pre-Independence Malay Periodicals in Singapore

NUS Libraries (2020)

This project aims to highlight vernacular Malay periodicals published in Singapore towards the end of the nineteenth and during the first part of the twentieth century, up to the onset of independence in the Malay Archipelago. Individuals inextricably linked to these periodicals will be illuminated. Materials pertaining to these individuals, periodicals and their other writings within NUS Libraries' collection will be showcased.

Perceptions of Singapore's Built Heritage and Landmarks

Dr Natalie Pang, Seah Chia Shih Paveena, Wong Kwang Lin & Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries (2019)

The Study on the Perceptions of Singapore's Built Heritage and Landmarks seeks to understand public opinion towards built heritage in Singapore, drawing on an opinion poll of 53 heritage sites. Given that scholarly and policy-centred discussions of heritage value and conservation are usually centred on the perspectives of experts, this report focuses on how average Singaporeans perceive the meaning, purpose and value of built heritage, and how these perceptions influence the sense of national identity.

Fifty Years of Japanese Performances in Singapore (1965 to 2015): An Overview

A/P Lim Beng Choo and Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries (2019)

This interactive visual exhibit looks at performance data of visiting Japanese groups and artists in Singapore between 1965 and 2015 to examine Japanese cultural presence in Singapore. Performance records can be accessed in various ways with different emphasis such as by genre or in chronological order; this is accompanied with textual information on specific performance elements such as historical background, genre and venue.

 

Rivers: The Blood Vessels of Life - a Showcase of Field Investigation Projects

Dr. Carl Grundy-Warr, Mark Chong Yan Sheng, Anjana Ramkumar & Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries (2019)

A digital exhibition of student projects from GE4221: Field Investigations in Human Geography. Centred around water-based communities living in and around the Tonle Sap Lake and Mekong River in Cambodia, the projects cover a variety of themes ranging from livelihoods and culture to environmental issues. Explore the waterscapes of Cambodia with the students as they showcase the environmental and social realities of the Lower Mekong.

Everyday Life

Dr Ho Chee Lick & Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries (2018)

This website exhibits 85 sketches by Dr. Ho Chee Lick of common spaces of Singapore between 2014 and 2017, digitised by NUS Libraries and presented in two series, "Everyday Life" and "Void Deck".

Singapore Makan Index 2017

Institute of Policy Studies, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy & Digital Scholarship, NUS Libraries (2018)

Makan Index (MI) is a measure of the cost of eating out introduced by the researchers from the Institute of Policy Studies, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy. The cost of 5 food items was chosen to form this index. Namely, economic rice (2 vegetables and 1 meat option), mee rebus (Malay-style boiled noodle dish), chicken rice (steamed or roasted chicken with rice), iced milo (iced chocolate malt drink), and kopi-O (black coffee with sugar). Close to 2400 food stalls comprising of coffee shops, hawker centres and food courts from 26 planning areas were surveyed.

 

Other Digital Scholarship / Digital Humanities Projects in NUS

Historical Maps of Singapore - 31 sets of maps of Singapore from 1846-2010 scanned and georeferenced by the Department of Geography

History of Western Music - a series of timeline and map visualisations that chronicles the development of western art music

Singapore Historical GIS - a digital archive that combines Chinese and English archival sources on Chinese socio-cultural institutions in Singapore

Singapore Biographical Database - an exploration of individual prominent Chinese personalities and their networks in Singapore

Map of Origins: Chinese Clans in Singapore - a comprehensive listing of Chinese Clan Associations in Singapore

Singapore Places of Worship - an interactive map of 381 art pieces comprising of religious places of worship from different faiths and religions.

Perform Contemporary Tradition - an open-access multimedia archive for academic and theatrical works related to traditional performance today

Contemporary Wayang Archive - a collection of re-elaborations of Java's oldest performance traditions, record in 21st century Java

Asian Shakespeare Intercultural Archive - a multilingual online archive of up to 70 performances from East and Southeast Asia

Mapping Early European Writings on Southeast Asia - a visualisation that explores 57 early Iberian writings on Southeast Asian from the sixteenth to mid-seventeenth century

Wayang Kontemporer - an interactive analysis of new developments in Indonesian shadow puppet theatre with new media

Chinese Meteorological Publications 1872 - 1951 - a digital collection of daily China weather records from the period