Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Information Literacy Skills for Research (Engineering): Access

Overview

How do you access the full-text of journal articles that are within/outside the NUS Libraries' subscription?

Access

To get full-text in electronic format, click on Find It!@NUS Libraries button.


You can also access full-text after setting up the library link in Google Scholar, the Find It!@NUS Libraries hyperlink will be displayed.


To install Find It!@NUS Libraries, refer to Find It! @NUS Libraries guide.

Proxy Bookmarklet is a bookmark that inserts the NUS Libraries proxy stem into the URL of an article link in your browser to allow access to full-text of journal articles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscription.

To install Proxy Bookmarklet, refer to Proxy Bookmarklet guide


For example, if you want to access this journal article and it requires you to pay:


Apply Proxy Bookmarklet to access full-text of this book chapter.  If it is within the NUS Libraries' subscription, you would be able to access the full-text:

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides single click access to library content from publisher websites, e.g. PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, Wikipedia.

To install LibKey Nomad, please refer to LibKey Nomad guide.


You can also get full-text from printed sources, e.g. printed books, journals, etc. These are located in various collections in NUS Libraries, e.g. Bound Journals, Closed Stacks, etc.

From FindMore@NUSL (see Screen 1), you could view online or request a Closed Stacks item (see Screen 2), or borrow a book from the shelves (see Screen 3):

Screen 1


Screen 2


Screen 3

If an article/paper in a journal/book/conference proceeding you need is not available in NUS Libraries’ collection, you can request for them through the e-Form.

To find out more about DDS, refer to Document Delivery Service (DDS) FAQ.