Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

FindMore Help: Books and E-Resources

Search for books, journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations & more

Books and E-Resources

Books and E-Resources contain results from the extensive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, ebooks, theses and dissertations, and online full-text contents in NUS Libraries' catalogue and subscribed electronic resources.

Click on View/Filter button to view more results or zero in on relevant articles through filters (this will open a new window/tab).

summon portlet

Basic Guide

In this window/tab, there are many options to help you explore topics, narrow your results set, and refine your search query. Recommendations and suggestions for other resources or search terms are also provided.

  1. Refine using facets and filters to narrow or expand results.
  2. Sort results by relevance or date.
  3. Save items to your folder for citation export, emailing or printing.
  4. Based on your search query terms, the Topic Explorer pane may appear providing relevant topical reference content, suggestions and recommendations.

results list

Advanced - Search Operators

Search terms may be combined with the following Boolean operators:

AND

By default, all terms in a search are combined with the AND operator.
Example: teacher AND education will return results that contain both terms.

OR

Use OR to expand the results set.
Example:microcircuits OR nanocircuits will return items that contain either term.

NOT

Use NOT to exclude items the results list. You may also use the “-” (dash) character in front of the term you wish to exclude.
Example: animal NOT dog will not include the term dog.

 

Implied AND

When two or more terms or expressions are adjacent with no intervening Boolean operator, an AND is assumed. For example, searching for the keywords Singapore History is similar to searching for the keywords Singapore AND History.

 

Order of operation

FindMore will process terms within the parentheses first, followed by AND, then OR.

 

 The search term might be found not just in the title, author, note, summary etc. but also in the full-text of the book or the article and this can be easy to miss in the search results, leading you to wonder why a certain result appears.

Phrase search

Use quotation marks “   ” to search for a phrase.
Example: The search “teacher education” will find results containing the exact phrase.

 

Wildcards

Searches can be performed using the following wildcards:

The symbol ? will match any one character.
Example: The search Ols?n can be used to find Olsen or Olson.

The symbol * will match zero or more characters within a word.
Example: Ch*ter will match Charter, Character and Chapter.

When * is used at the end of a word, it will match all suffixes.
Example: Temp* will match Temptation, Temple and Temporary.

Note: Wildcards cannot be used as the first character of a search. The use of wildcards within a phrase search is not supported.

 

Auto-stemming

FindMore will automatically search for word variants. Searching for "watches" (with or without quotes) will find results with "watch". Currently, there is no way to turn it off.

Proximity Operator ~

Use the tilde character ~ to find words within a defined proximity to other words.
Example: "Singapore history"~3 will find results where the two terms are within at most three words of each other. Quotes are necessary.

 

Emphasizing Search Terms Operator ^

Use the caret symbol ^ to direct FindMore@NUSL that a certain term is more important others.
Example: The search statement China^10 "Singapore History" will increase the term weight of the keyword China and this results in higher rankings for more China-related results.

Advanced - Looking for a specific item?

Tip 1: Enter title only with quotes

Do NOT enter author, edition or publisher. Do NOT copy and paste the whole reference or citation.

e.g  Almeida, H., Campello, M., & Weisbach, M. S. (2005). The cash flow sensitivity of cash. The Journal of Finance, 59(4), 1777-1804

Search "The cash flow sensitivity of cash"

title search

 Use Advanced Search if you want to use the author together with the title to help narrow the search.

 Use Content Type facet to reduce the results if there are too many results.

Tip 2: Use Advanced Search

Still can't find it or too many results? Use Advanced Search.

If it is a book, use the ISBN if available.

Alternatively, search for both Title and Author. To be even more specific, you can even add Publication Date.

Tip 3: Confirm library have access

 If you are looking for journal articles, please note that we cover only online journal article titles and we do not have permission to add all journal article titles into the search. Therefore you may not find some journal articles, even if we have access. Follow these search methods to confirm if we really have the article.

Advanced - Looking for specific topics?

Tip 1: Use quotation marks

Add quotes to ensure important phrases are found together.

search topic

 The system generally ranks results with words that are closer together higher, but occasionally might rank other results that have search terms far apart due to other ranking factors. Use quotes to force the results to have the exact phrase.
 You can use proximity operators to specify that the words have to be N words apart. "Singapore policy"~3 will find results where the two terms are within at most three words of each other.

Tip 2: Use Advanced Search

Use Advanced Search for precise controlled searches.

The Advanced Search lets you force results to have particular words in specific fields such as title. This is especially effective for Country specific searches (e.g. Singapore, Malaysia). Otherwise the country might appear somewhere in the full-text and the item may not be on the country at all.

advanced search

 A even more advanced technique is to use the caret symbol to emphasis that certain search terms are more important. E.g. "media policy"^2 Singapore, tells the system to weight "media policy" more highly.

Tip 3: Use facets and filters

Use Discipline and Subject Terms facets to restrict search to specific discipline/subject. Disciplines are standardized for all items in FindMore and are at broad levels. Subjects are drawn from different sources using different systems of classification, hence, the terms used will not be standardized.

Use Content Type, Publication Date facets to restrict search to specific content type or date. 

By default, the search may exclude Book Reviews & Newspaper Articles as these are not scholarly material. But for certain situations, like current events, they may be appropriate, so you may want to show them.

Tip 4: Log in for more

Get more results by logging before searching. You don't have to login before searching, but if you do, you get access millions more results from Web of Science, Scopus, MLA and more.

Tip 5: Add Results Beyond

Get even more results by using Add results beyond your library's collection.

add beyond collection

This option will show a lot more articles or books that we currently may not have access to (use document delivery to request purchase of article or ask us to purchase the book). Others may be free or open access material which we have not added.

Tip 6: Use subject specific databases

FindMore searches a lot of NUS library subscribed material but even it is still not comprehensive. It is worthwhile trying a subject specific database which may make it easier to find what you need.

Citation Trails

Citation trails allow you to explore a topic and collect material by following a chain of articles that cite each other. This feature enhances serendipitous discovery and allows you to easily see the academic context of your sources. Citation trails work in two directions:

  • Cites – Articles that this article cites.
  • Cited by – Articles that cite this article.

This gives you easy access to important articles that will expand and enrich your own work.

 Metadata provided by CrossRef is used for matching to build the citation trails.  In order to provide a comprehensive list of citations, some of these references may be outside of the library’s collection.

For example, the following record has both types of citations.

citationtrail

Selecting a citation link in the record, opens a page that lists the records that match the type of citation that you have selected: Cites or Cited by. The following example lists the records that this record cites.

citation trail

As you link to other records' citations, you can see the trail by selecting the View your citation path link. The depth of the path appears next to the link:

citation trail

From the path, you can return to a previous citation in the trail by selecting its link. To display your original search results, select the Search tab.

Output Results

Save Searches

Save your search to the Saved Search Folder so you don't have to retype your search terms. Within the same browser session, you do not need to sign in to Microsoft OneDrive/Google Drive. If you want to save the searches beyond your current browser session, you need to sign in to either Microsoft OneDrive or Google Drive.

save search

Click on the star icon in the search box to save your search.

 

Manage Saved Searches

Click on the star icon next to Advanced Search to manage your saved searches.

manage search

You can also log in to Microsoft OneDrive or Google Drive to manage your saved searches. Please remember to sign out if you are on a public computer.

Preview

Mouse over the previewicon to see more information.

 

Save Results

Save your results so that you can print or email them in the appropriate citation style (e.g APA, MLA etc). Note that saving results in FindMore is temporary.

  1. Click on thesave itemsicon to save references.
  2. saved folder shows the number of references saved in this session. Click on the icon to cite, email or print the references. (Maximum of 50 results)

save items

You can export the items into reference managers under the Export As dropdown menu. Alternatively, you can print or email the items.

output

If you don't use reference managers, FindMore provides the option to format your saved list of results in your preferred citation styles. 

Simply chose a style from the dropdown menu and the results list will be formatted accordingly. Copy and paste these results on to your bibliographies/reference lists. Please remember to check the accuracy of the citation.

citation style