Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FASS Research Workshop - 6th August 2019
The Bonn Handbook of Globality. Vol. 1 by his two-volume handbook provides readers with a comprehensive interpretation of globality through the multifaceted prism of the humanities and social sciences. Key concepts and symbolizations rooted in and shaped by European academic traditions are discussed and reinterpreted under the conditions of the global turn. Highlighting consistent anthropological features and socio-cultural realities, the handbook gathers coherently structured articles written by 110 professors in the humanities and social sciences at Bonn University, Germany, who initiate a global dialogue on meaningful and sustainable notions of human life in the age of globality. Volume 1 introduces readers to various interpretations of globality, and discusses notions of human development, communication and aesthetics. Volume 2 covers notions of technical meaning, of political and moral order, and reflections on the shaping of globality.
Publication Date: 2019
Modern Subjectivities in World Society : Global Structures and Local Practices by This book brings together theories of world society with poststructuralist and postcolonial work on modern subjectivity to understand the universalising and particularising processes of globalisation. It addresses a theoretical void in global studies by attending to the co-constituted process through which modern subjectivities and global processes emerge and interact. The editors outline a key problem in global studies, which is a lack of engagement between the local/particular/individual and the ‘universalising’ processes in which they are situated. The volume deals with this concern with contributions from historical sociologists, poststructuralist and postcolonial scholars and by focusing in the Middle East, religion in global modernity and non-human subjectivities.
Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Global Studies by The Oxford Handbook of Global Studies provides an overview of the emerging field of global studies. Since the end of the Cold War, globalization has been reshaping the modern world, and an array of new scholarship has risen to make sense of it in its various transnationalmanifestations-including economic, social, cultural, ideological, technological, environmental, and in new communications. The editors - Mark Juergensmeyer, Saskia Sassen, and Manfred Steger - are recognized authorities in this emerging field and have gathered an esteemed cast of contributors todiscuss various aspects in the field through a broad range of approaches.Several essays focus on the emergence of the field and its historical antecedents. Other essays explore analytic and conceptual approaches to teaching and research in global studies, and the largest section will deal with the subject matter of global studies, challenges from diasporas and pandemicsto the global city and the emergence of a transnational capitalist class. The final two sections feature essays that take a critical view of globalization from diverse perspectives and essays on global citizenship the ideas and institutions that guide an emerging global civil society. This Handbookfocuses on global studies more than on the phenomenon of globalization itself, though the various aspects of globalization are central to understanding how the field is currently being shaped.
Publication Date: 2018
The Palgrave Handbook of Global Approaches to Peace by With existing literature focusing largely on Western perspectives of peace and their applications, a global understanding of peace is much needed. Spurred by more recent debates and discourses that criticize the dominant realist and liberal approaches for crises in contemporary state- and peace-building, the contributors to this handbook emphasize not only the need to solve this eternal conundrum of humanity, but also demand—with the rise of increasingly more violent conflicts in international relations—the development of a global interpretive framework for peace and security. To this end, the present handbook examines conceptual, institutional and normative interpretive approaches for making, building and promoting peace in the context of roles played by state and non-state actors within local, national, regional, and global units of analysis.
Publication Date: 2019
Revisiting the Global Imaginary : Theories, Ideologies, Subjectivities: Essays in Honor of Manfred Steger by Manfred B. Steger’s extensive body of work on globalization has made him one of the most influential scholars working in the field of global studies today. His conceptualization of the global imaginary is amongst the most significant developments in thinking about globalization of the last three decades. Revisiting the Global Imaginary pays tribute to Steger’s contribution to our intellectual history with essays on the evolution, ontological foundations and methodological approaches to the study of the global imaginary. The transdisciplinary framework of this field of enquiry lends itself to investigation in diverse sites. This volume of essays explores practices associated with the reproduction of the global imaginary in such diverse sites as mobile money, Irish pubs, cyber-capitalism, urban space, music in post-apartheid South Africa and global political movements, amongst others.
Publication Date: 2019
Thinking Globally by In this accessible text, Mark Juergensmeyer, a pioneer in global studies, provides a comprehensive overview of the emerging field of global studies from regional, topical, and theoretical perspectives. Each of the twenty compact chapters in Thinking Globally features Juergensmeyer's own lucid introduction to the key topics and offers brief excerpts from major writers in those areas. The chapters explore the history of globalization in each region of the world, from Africa and the Middle East to Asia, Europe, and the Americas, and cover key issues in today's global era, such as: * Challenges of the global economy * Fading of the nation-state * Emerging nationalisms and transnational ideologies * Hidden economies of sex trafficking and the illegal drug trade * New communications media * Environmental crises * Human rights abuses Thinking Globally is the perfect introduction to global studies for students, and an exceptional resource for anyone interested in learning more about this new area of study.
Call Number: JZ1318 Thi 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-20
"Globalisation calls for a way of understanding contemporary issues that goes beyond the boundaries of any single discipline. Global Studies is a new, multidisciplinary field of inquiry that examines the processes and effects of globalisation across political, economic, social, and cultural domains around the world. The field builds on social science concepts and area studies expertise and focuses especially on problems of profound public policy significance". -- NUS Global Studies Introduction.
NUS Libraries provide a wide range of resources that are essentially useful for researching various themes and topics relating to Global Studies. Students are encouraged to explore/search multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases for materials that are relevant to their research assignments, theses, dissertations, etc.
Most Library tutorials are either conducted during tutorial times or specially arranged by the Library. You can check out PPT files for each library tutorial uploaded in the following subject LibGuides:
Advisory session with your Resource Librarian
Contact a Humanities or Social Science resource librarian for help on searching for resources relating to your research topics and assignments.
NUS Central Library
Phone: +65 6516 2029